Langmuir tips for newbie?

Langmuir Crossfire, Crossfire Pro, Crossfire XR plasma table discussion forum
BThis
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Langmuir tips for newbie?

Post by BThis »

I'm a welding hobbyist who's dreamt of doing plasma CNC, but since most machines start around $15,000 it has remained a dream. Now I found Langmuir and from reviews here it's actually a credible product despite its low price. So I'm considering jumping in by pre-ordering a Crossfire Pro. I'd like to cut less than half inch mild steel up to maybe 2x4 or 4x4 ft. Not a heavy duty cycle. I've already learned a great deal on this FANTASTIC forum, and I'm very grateful for so many experienced folks sharing your experience and knowledge. But as a total newbie, I have some possibly dumb questions:
-- Some here have dissed Langmuir's recommended torch so I'm considering a Hypertherm 45 or similar. Any recommendations? Or is their bundle the way to go?
-- Any tips on Crossfire add-ons or mods that are required or highly recommended?
-- I'll be doing this in my garage where I weld on one side and do woodwork on the other. I've heard that CNC tables are dirty. Any precautions I should take to protect my table saw, bandsaw and other tools--or that would prevent me from pulling the wife's car in at night after I shut down? How much does a water table help?
-- I use a welding curtain to keep sparks away from the "wood" side. Would I also need an exhaust fan and/or an enclosure?
-- What do you guys use for computers? I work on an old Mac PowerBook - but do I need a Windows machine for this?
-- I'll have to learn the software. What free/low-cost drawing and CNC control software do you recommend? I've used 2D drawing packages like Illustrator, been exposed to AutoCAD, and used Blender a little. Any hints to get a head start other than searching YouTube for how-to videos?
Thank you in advance for any advice. There's so much to learn!
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member