New newby

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
Bombu
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New newby

Post by Bombu »

Hi,

I’m John. I have access to a ArcLight Dynamics table with a Hypertherm PowerMax45 XP system. I haven’t cut anything on it yet but I have some experience with a laser cutter/engraver (and plotters) and writing native HPGL and PostScript programs and I’ve simulated my AutoCad output in Sheetcam TNG. Sheetcam seems like a very easy convenient program. I think I like it.

Our plasma table needs some more setting up; we need UV shielding, venting, and fire hazard reduction (it’s right next to a cloth covered bulletin board) but before that happens I’m going to try to get an EasyScribe. I think it would be fun to engrave decorative patterns on guitar, etc, pick guards.

I’ve found this site to be very helpful so thank you all.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: New newby

Post by acourtjester »

Welcome aboard John, great place for a starter, questions answered freely and lots of neat project files posted for you to download and use. You can have a quick look using the search function in the upper right. Sometimes changing the wording will expand you search. An easy scribe will open another option for the table, easy to setup using SheetCam. Just figure a way to hold the items you wish to engrave on the table.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
adbuch

Post by adbuch »

Hi John - welcome to the forum! Another option for "practicing" with your table would be to attach a sharpie/pen holder to the torch mount and draw instead of cut. This is always a great way to get some experience with a new table without wasting metal. Here is a thread you might like discussing some various methods for constructing a sharpie/pen holder. I particularly like the ones that Tom 3D printed.