Hi im new here

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
WrineX
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Hi im new here

Post by WrineX »

Hi there
i am new to plasma i began my adventure a month ago , since i make DIY planar magnetic loudspeakers on my youtube channel and some groups and forums. for this purpose a tool that can make prototypes of metal plates with holes and such is great ! (instead of endless milling and insane noise) so i bought a Primeweld 60S from the US .... to be used on my home made cnc router i use for all my projects.

here is the current state in the video playlist

i want to cut mostly 1-2mm steel and i run in several problems that i think can be sulved. so i will be posting some questions later on :)
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Hi im new here

Post by acourtjester »

Welcome to the site WrineX
Hats of to you for advancing you tool usage, and the thought process. May I point out a few things, not knowing how you are generation your G-codes this option may not be available. With SheetCam you can extend the cut at the end by using a command called overcut. You can expand the length of cutting the path past where you would normally stop by maybe 0.070" (Just an example). And something that may be outside you thought process is magnets with have an effect on the Plasma stream causing it to wobble. As you already see is Plasma produces very fine metal dust that sticks to magnets, you may try drilling and bolting you support metal in place of magnets.
Keep plugging at it and have fun
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
WrineX
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by WrineX »