Creating a vintage sign

Plasma Cutters can be used to make some amazing products & projects. Upload some pictures of projects you've completed using your plasma cutter.
Scratch
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Creating a vintage sign

Post by Scratch »

I wanted to create a vintage looking sign for my pole barn. I collect old Jeeps so I found some google images of what I was thinking and customized it to my liking. There's not much CNC plasma cutting, but I thought some of you might like to see my process, maybe it'll spark some idea for someone.

Now, I'm no artist by any means, but I do have a vinyl cutter so I thought I could create a stencil, then use spray paint for the color, and finally distress it to my liking.

I think I'm going to make my sign about 30" high and about 25" wide and will probably make it out of 16 gauge steel, but before I cut out the shape of the sign, I wanted to make sure that my plan would work. I've had issues with using vinyl as stencils before and I've never distressed a sign either so I wanted to do a test run on a much smaller scale.
I found a piece of scrap steel I had. This one is 1/8" thick and about 11" square.

I cleaned it up with a wire wheel grinder then sprayed a coat of primer first, then flat white on top of that.

I wasn't exactly sure of what I wanted the dealer info to say, so I drew up a few different designs.

I picked one, then I cut out the vinyl and weeded it. I used orange vinyl because "orange man bad" right?

Next, I applied the transfer paper. This is only to help apply it and gets thrown away like all my hopes and dreams.