It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:06 pm

 

torch height control -Fastcut g5 fabricator table

Fastcut plasma table discission forum
toddler
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: Petersburg, WV

torch height control -Fastcut g5 fabricator table

Postby toddler » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:15 pm

hello, i have a fastcut g5 fabricator table with auto torch height control. for some reason when when the height control is on, i start the cut and it pierces normal, but as it moves along the cut path, the head raises up until it is like an inch above the sheet of metal. obviously, it cannot cut from this height :) so i have been controlling it manually for several months now, but i want to get it fixed. does anyone have any ideas for how i could fix this or what could be wrong? i do not know much about the computer part of it. it could be just a setting wrong or something else could be messed up. any ideas would be appreciated! thanks! toddler

User avatar
SCHIDTHEAD
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:28 am
Location: Under a Hood

Re: torch height control

Postby SCHIDTHEAD » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:00 pm

What material & settings are you cutting with? Floating away can be caused by a combination of bad voltage and speed settings.

Lemmeno.
"Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one."--Thomas Paine 1776

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: torch height control

Postby jimcolt » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:17 am

I would suggest contacting the manufacturer/supplier of your torch height control system. Likely the issue is with a setting or adjustment. Height control....working properly...is the single best way to improve plasma cut quality, productivity and consumable life.

Jim Colt Hypertherm


toddler wrote:hello, i have a fastcut g5 fabricator table with auto torch height control. for some reason when when the height control is on, i start the cut and it pierces normal, but as it moves along the cut path, the head raises up until it is like an inch above the sheet of metal. obviously, it cannot cut from this height :) so i have been controlling it manually for several months now, but i want to get it fixed. does anyone have any ideas for how i could fix this or what could be wrong? i do not know much about the computer part of it. it could be just a setting wrong or something else could be messed up. any ideas would be appreciated! thanks! toddler

toddler
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: Petersburg, WV

Re: torch height control

Postby toddler » Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:53 am

ok thanks guys. we contacted the manufacturer of the table, and they said it must be something in the wiring between the head and the computer. i guess we will have to go through all the wires and see which one is malfunctioning.
toddler

pr connection
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:26 pm

Re: torch height control

Postby pr connection » Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:00 am

What are your voltage settings in Mach 3 when you are experiencing these issues? What plasma machine are u using? I have a fast cut table as well and first had this issue this evening.

Dan


Return to “Fastcut CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's