It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:46 pm

 

Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Star-Lab plasma table discussion forum
whiskeymike
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:23 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby whiskeymike » Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:02 pm

Thinking of rewiring my system as I’d like move the control box and the wires are too short. I’m going to be doing the Linux upgrade soon, so I figure it makes sense to do it all at once. A couple questions...

What wire should I buy? Do you know what a safe length is to purchase for a 4x8 table + 20%? Is there a coating, twisted pair, gauge, or other features I should be looking for? Also, has anyone done any upgrades to make disconnects easier? Some of my wires go into the box through holes, but holes aren’t big enough to pull wires with connectors on.

Thanks

djreiswig
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby djreiswig » Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:16 pm

I moved my control box to the end of my table for better access. I just looked at the printing to the original wire and bought some of the same type online. I put a small sealed junction box where the control box was and spliced the wires there.
As far as running the wires into the box, I just use the holes and cut the ends off if I need to move anything. It hasn't happened often, so I didn't bother with some sort of plug. You could probably find some phoenix connectors to mount to the case. Or you could just enlarge the holes.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Ironken
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:29 pm

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby Ironken » Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:20 pm

These guys are great to deal with and have been very willing to help me find the components I needed for a positioner build.

http://www.eskc.com/Default.asp

djreiswig
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby djreiswig » Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:52 pm

Here's what I used to extend the switches on my table. I got some off of ebay.
https://catalog.belden.com/techdata/EN/ ... chdata.pdf
My motor wires had extra coiled up so they were long enough.
I did buy some of this to extend the motor for my rotary chuck project.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/72387566403
The colors don't match exactly and the gauge was a little heavier, but it worked good.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

whiskeymike
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:23 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby whiskeymike » Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:37 pm

Thanks guys for the advice.

BTA Plasma
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby BTA Plasma » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:10 am

As long as you have the same gauge you should be able to go as long as 30 feet without any appreciable drop in power.

ggeh
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:51 pm

Re: Wiring Starlabs & CandCNC

Postby ggeh » Thu Sep 06, 2018 7:34 pm

I sent my control box in for the Linux upgrade. The control box was mounted under the side of my water table. When I got it back I mounted it on my top of my refrigerated dryer at chest height. No more bending over on my knees smacking my head on the bottom of the table with a flash light when I had to get in the box for what ever reason. As far as the holes in the box I cut the connectors off, pushed the wires through the existing holes and pressed new connectors on. My motor wires were plenty long enough so any other control wires I used cat 6 stranded. Travel limits switches I used some shielded 22 gauge stranded 2 conductor wire.


Return to “Star-Lab”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's