plasma kicking out after start

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
bittauto
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

plasma kicking out after start

Post by bittauto »

Hello I'm new to this cnc plasma world. I just got done building my own simple 2 axis rotary tube plasma machine
my problem is that when the plasma lights it will stop in a sec the gfi outlet pops and the machine stops. so I figured I had a bad ground to the machine itself, turns out I did. So I fix the ground in the cord and now the gfi doesn't pop but now the arc will stop and the machine losses its path. So
I drove a grounding rod in the ground and ran a stranded copper wire #6 10ft to the machine and it still does the same thing.
If I don't let the cutter arc the machine runs it path perfect.
Is this because I'm running a cheap plasma cutter (Amico pilot arc apc-50hf)
I'm using mach3 with a usb novuson bob.
I'm sure I will probably get beat up for being cheap but I'm ready for it lol, if this is the problem I'll buy a different one Everlast or Hypertherm
if anyone could give me some advice or something to try that would be greatly appreciated.
thanks
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: plasma kicking out after start

Post by weldguy »

Sounds like you are seeing high frequency interference and if your plasma cutter is not designed with an arc starting system to eliminate this HF noise then yes your plasma cutter is the issue. Judging by the name of your plasma cutter "pilot arc" "hf" it's your issue.
bittauto
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by bittauto »

thanks for your help did verify it is a high frequency, I should have know better I knew hf causes problems
well i guess I'll be ordering a new plasma
thanks again
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »

you want a Blow-back type ignition for the plasma.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch