Head can not move small distances

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
iancaz
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Head can not move small distances

Post by iancaz »

Okay, this is likely something simple, but I'm a noob, so I'm hoping someone here can help me out!

I'm using OpenBuilds CONTROL software to run my Arduino UNO based table. I can successfully jog 10mm, or 100mm per jog, but if I take it down to 1mm, or .1mm, the table clicks & nothing moves. I have occasionally seen it "rock" in the direction I expect it to go, but then it falls back to where it just was.

I tried dropping acceleration down & it did provide some help (moved at 1mm per step), but it was so slow, there's no way I could use it that way to actually cut anything.

Does anyone have any ideas? I can provide additional hardware info if necessary, but not sure what is relevant.

Thanks,
Ian
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Head can not move small distances

Post by weldguy »

Hey Ian, I am not pro but it sounds like your stepper motors are not moving in fine enough steps to complete these short moves. Could be a gear reduction issue or a stepper driver setup issue but I am not sure, just throwing that out there.
iancaz
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by iancaz »

I'm wondering if I need to use (more) micro-stepping?
My stepper drivers minimum pulses/revolution setting is 400, but my stepper motors are 200 pulses/rev, so I'm already doing some micro-stepping. I'm wondering if increasing this would give me the increased resolution I'm looking for?
weldguy

Post by weldguy »

Im not familiar with your equipment but it’s certainly worth a try. Likely just a flip of a couple dup switchs or something to make it happen. Good luck and let us know how it works out.
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by adbuch »

iancaz wrote: Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:09 pm I'm wondering if I need to use (more) micro-stepping?