Need some help troubleshooting

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
JayWal
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Need some help troubleshooting

Post by JayWal »

Hi, im looking for some help figuring out why I cant get movement from my table.

I have no CNC experience and to get my feet wet I did CNC router to plasma conversion for my little home shop. After a lot of research I did get new drivers and BOB ordered and installed, and I was able to get basic movement of the table. Jogging it around manually via Mach3. That last about 15 minutes and everything went dead, no movement at all.

I was using the 5v output port of the BOB to supply 5v to the drivers (purple wire below). After everything died I noticed I was no longer getting 5v out of that port (P13) I read since then that it's not recommend to use that port for that purpose, is it possible I may have blown something in the BOB?

Like I said earlier I have zero experience with CNC, would very much appreciate some help getting this thing moving.

So, BoB is power via USB (5.1VDC measured with multimeter to make sure) and a separate 24v power supply. Red and white wires bottom right.

Drivers powered 36v via separate power supply.

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

Last edited by JayWal on Sat Feb 29, 2020 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JayWal
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Re: Help some help troubleshooting

Post by JayWal »

I'm guessing I'll need a separate 5V power supply then. What amperage would I need to supply the 5V to 4 stepper drivers?
WyoGreen
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Need some help troubleshooting

Post by WyoGreen »

Yea, your BOB will not be able to supply enough power to supply your stepper drivers. More than likely you blew either a fuse or your BOB.