First machine build

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
Aaron3309
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

First machine build

Post by Aaron3309 »

Looking to build my first machine, right now my experience is limited to a shapeoko router but I’ve been researching plasma tables for several months. I’m a mechanic and welder by trade so I’m reasonably handy.
I have so far decided on a 4x4 water table design, 20mm linear rails and direct drive rack and pinion from nema 23 or 34 steppers.
For electronics I am thinking Uc400eth controller, Gecko g540 driver and neuron lite thc using Uccnc.
Is anyone using this hardware setup, we any problems or have any suggestions?
Rodw
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: First machine build

Post by Rodw »

I would not recommend a direct drive rack and pinion. You need a 3:1 to 5:1 reduction drive. If you are accurate, there is no need for a spring loaded pinion. You need about 25mm travel per motor revolution and you will be up over 90mm per revolution. Motion will be very jerky.

There is a Plasma primer document as part of linuxcnc which you may find helpful regardless of your chosen platform. http://linuxcnc.org/docs/devel/html/pla ... rimer.html
Full disclosure: I wrote it

By the sound of it, coming from Grbl, you are not really wedded to the Windows platform. Before you make a decision on hardware, have a look at the Plasmac config which is now part of the Linuxcnc distribution for V 2.8 and up. http://linuxcnc.org/docs/devel/html/pla ... guide.html
It is vastly superior than any external THC can ever hope to be becasue torch height is being managed right inside the motion controller resulting in a superior design. Should you go this way, I'd suggest that you look at the ethernet Mesa 7i96 ($119) and a Mesa THCAD card ($69). The high performance THC is managed within the LinuxCNC PC itself.