Need help with home built cnc plasma machine

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
chevyguy55

Need help with home built cnc plasma machine

Post by chevyguy55 »

i am very new to plasma cutting let alone cnc. i have 4x8 homebuild table from a kit i got from CAMCUTCNC and lincoln 25.came with intellcad,mach3,and corel draw select edition software.with only very skecthy instructions, with intellcad starts with step by step to configure a part to learn program.but somewhere i found some steps missing (maybe because i havn't seen cad before). instructed about LEAD INS & LEAD OUTS,AND CONVERT TO POLYLINES which is all to new to me. then there's this gcodes.the dxf to gcode converter is camcut's own i get it to work sometimes. there are dxf and gcode samples,so i got mach3 to run not correctly ,but have cut some of the gcodes THE MACHINE WORKS IT'S THE OPERATOR THAT NEEDS HELP.

after all this my question. is there any easier way to run my cnc cutter? different or simpler software? also how to set a home for torch? next how would i setup the dimensions to cut part in center table ie (move from home to the part in a predetermined place on table and back home)

any help will be appreciated
chevyguy55
plasmanewbie
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: need help

Post by plasmanewbie »

Hey chevyguy55

I am not familiar with your setup but I would scrap intellicad and use your Corel to design the parts you want. Once you have created your drawing in Corel save it as a .cdr file (a standard Corel Draw file). Retain this file in case you ever want to make changes to that drawing in the future. Next you should export your drawing as a .dxf file which you can run through your .dxf-gcode convertor so you can cut it with Mach 3.