Build a BOB

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Build a BOB

Post by djreiswig »

I have a C&CNC Ethercut controller (Mach3) and I noticed that it only uses 1-1/2 of the 3 available ports on the smoothstepper board. I've read all of the info I can find, but still have questions. I've tinkered with some basic electronic projects, but I'm no expert.
I'm wondering what I would need to build a second BOB to utilize the extra ports. I've read about BOBs and I'm still not sure what is required to build one. Do I need optoisolation, pull up resistors, pull down resistors? An external power supply, or is the built in one sufficient to power some relays? What type of relays?
I know there is also a concern with relays switching before Mach is loaded. I think there is a workaround to keep this from happening, but I don't recall where I read it.
For right now I'm just wanting to add a couple more relays, but who knows what else I may dream up in the future.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Build a BOB

Post by acourtjester »

Simple thing to do is contact Tom C at CandCNC, I would guess he will pick this up as he also posts here :D
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
djreiswig

Post by djreiswig »

I didn't want to bug him. He has enough things on his plate. I thought for sure with all the creative people here, surely someone has built a BOB.
C&CNC EtherCut
Hypertherm PM65
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by tcaudle »