New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
Post Reply
Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Fri Feb 19, 2021 11:28 am

I'm a welder by trade trying to branch out with a plasma table. I bought a new Premier Plasma table last year and it arrived in December. It came with a new hypertherm powermax 85 and has a proma 150 thc. I got it all set up and I've never really been able to get it working properly. The closest I've been able to get was being able to run through a G-code but it wouldn't fire the torch. I contacted the builder and he sent me a new board but that made it worse some how. The x axis would run left or right randomly and neither arrow keys would work correctly in the corresponding direction. So unable to get ahold of the builder I went to Facebook and copied the setting from a guy who has a Premier table. That only lost me what control I did have of the table. Of course I forgot to copy my original settings so now I'm at a complete loss and the builder just says he'll send another driver. I don't know if that'll help or not. Any help from you guys will be awesome. I also am not sure of lingo and names for this so please correct me we're I'm wrong. Thank you.

TJS
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by TJS » Fri Feb 19, 2021 12:44 pm

What system do they use. I know Premier Plasma had some good Youtube vids but they were older.

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 5220
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by acourtjester » Fri Feb 19, 2021 3:23 pm

If you are running Mach 3 make sure nothing is checked in the box as shown. Post screen shots of you input pins numbers and motor output signal pins.
3 mach.JPG

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT

weldguy
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by weldguy » Fri Feb 19, 2021 3:29 pm

That's a bummer but with some patience I am sure you will sort it out. Your x axis problem sounds like a loose stepper motor wire or improperly wired stepper motor.

When you switched out to the new board did you have to remove wires and reinstall or were there plugs that plugged into the board? Maybe a wire was hooked up wrong or maybe a wire came loose in a plug. That is likely all that is so if you can get you settings back maybe look into that.

Best of luck!

Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Sat Feb 20, 2021 5:06 pm

Thank yall so much for the replies. I did have to undo some wires but I took pics and put them back exactly as they were but I'll check for loose connections.
20210220_161547.jpg
20210220_160100.jpg
20210220_155756.jpg
20210220_155821.jpg
20210220_155836.jpg
20210220_155846.jpg
20210220_155948.jpg
20210220_160430.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here


User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 5220
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by acourtjester » Sun Feb 21, 2021 10:40 am

When posting images of the screen use a screenshot program in place of a camera. Windows has one called "snipping tool" can be found under accessories, and be attached to the task bar on the bottom of the screen. You can size and save the images as a jpeg image for posting here.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT

Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:33 pm

Ok thank you. I'll try that next time.

weldguy
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by weldguy » Mon Feb 22, 2021 12:45 pm

Curious to know if you find anything loose, please post back your results :Like

Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:48 pm

I dint find anything loose enough to fix the problems. Jake said he's gana send a new computer. He changed the settings back to where they should be and still the same issues persist. I'll continue to update.
Oh and I changed the parallel port cable too and still the same.

Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Sat Mar 06, 2021 8:27 pm

Well for those still wanting to know what's going on with my table. I'm still going back and forth with Jake trying to figure it out. Changed out computers twice and Bob's three times. A driver and now he's gana send a new thc. Lol.
He's helping me to wire it so I can run without the thc. But at the moment I'm trying to get the torch to fire. If yall are familiar with hypertherm it's showing a 0-51 code. Which is signal to fire upon start up. Not sure if I've got a wire wrong or what but Jake is texting me back so we'll see what happens.
Thanks

User avatar
djreiswig
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1053
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by djreiswig » Sat Mar 06, 2021 9:58 pm

Are you on the normally closed side of the relay instead of the normally open side? Or is your relay trigger in the software inverted?
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Guero91
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:56 pm

Re: New Premier Plasma table wont work.

Post by Guero91 » Sat Mar 06, 2021 10:28 pm

I cut out a circle! Turns out I had the estop and plasma trigger wires switched on the bob.

Post Reply

Return to “DIY Plasma Table & Accessory Discussion Forum”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC