Cutting Aluminum

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
02Diesel
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Cutting Aluminum

Post by 02Diesel »

I'm new to cutting aluminum and have some questions about cutting it with a plasma table. I'm trying to see if cutting our aluminum with the table will be a cost savings over the shearing it so I'm trying to a little homework. We have a HPR260, Burny 10 plus lcd, on a C&G systems machine, with a down draft table using a Donaldson Torent filter system.

One of my Questions is this: We primarily cut mild steel and some 316 and 304 stainless, will there be a problem mixing aluminum with the steel in the dust collection barrel and the table bed? Or should both be cleaned before cutting aluminum and cleaned again before switching back to steel? I've heard some stories of barrels starting on fire or getting really hot when the two are mixed.

I did a small test cut on some 1/2" 6061 today at 260 amp nitrogen/air cut set to all the specs in the book. It was much nicer cut than I had expected it to be. These parts need to be welded after cutting and I was wondering if using, I think it's H35 (been a long week) would leave a better cut for welding with less clean up?

Thanks for your suggestions,
Steve
hooked
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Re: Cutting Aluminum

Post by hooked »

nitrogen and air is best bet! i cut alum. in the shop as the normal day! but for the lil amount of steel we do i clean the section of the table out! dreams of my younger days of trying to put the fire out of the timesaver when we didnt swap the barrels between alum. and steel pop back into my head as the fire truck shows up to foam the collection barrels!!! just not going to ever take that kinda chance again!! our welders either wire brush or file the plasma edge and it works great!!!
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »