Question? Heavy plate edge starts

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
plain ol Bill
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Question? Heavy plate edge starts

Post by plain ol Bill »

I have a need to cut some 1" plate using my Powermax 1250. It will require an edge start as the cutter will not pierce this thickness. I have never tried edge starts before and am not really sure just how it is done. The parts are a 4" square with a square 1" hole in the center of it.
Tell my how you would do this guys --.
plain ol Bill
Hypertherm 1250
Duramax machine torch
Corel Draw X6
Sheetcam
Mach3
5 x 10 self built table
Lots of ineptitude
ryno fab
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Re: Question? Heavy plate edge starts

Post by ryno fab »

the way i have done it in the past is kind of a pain but you gotta work with what ya got.
for the holes in the center i would figure out where your pierce point is going to be. in plasmcam you just start you " cutting" with the autocontrol off. hit pause when needed and put a soapstone mark. after marking out your pierce points take a oxy/actl torch and blow a hole. once you get that done select the "pause before cutting" or just pause it before it starts up. on pcam there is a "test" button. i set my pierce time to 0. i will manualy pierce using the test button and hit the start button when its ready. now that i have a hole i can treat the center cuts like an edge cut and repeat the process. i realize that i said that in reverse order. you would want to cut the hole out first but you get the jist. a bit nomadic but it works.
MQUICK
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by MQUICK »