Start,Shaphon

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
bobrl
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Start,Shaphon

Post by bobrl »

Morning!! I am new to this site, as well as new to this line of work!!!! Here I go again! lol I have been a electrical contractor, IBEW wireman for twenty years, in 2010 things got so bad, that I couldnt beg a job with my company, so I had to close shop!! Then I bought a truck and trailer and started hauling cars! That went good till i came down with colon/rectal cancer and that stoped that!! So I am now tring to start a CNC Fab shop and dont know a lot about it!! I am in the St. Louis Mo. area in Il., so i am looking for any projects, work of any kind!! Sorry for the long story! My question is , is any one familer with the operating system "Start" "Shaphon" ??? I am buying a CNC plasma/router machine from a company in China,JCut. Could use some help!! Thanks for your time!! Bob
tnbndr
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Start,Shaphon

Post by tnbndr »

Not familiar with them but I would check out what kind of support you are going to get with a machine from China.!
There are lots of machines made here in the USA with accessible phone support when you run into problems. And you will have problems. Also are parts available? Don't just look at your initial cost savings, if there are any. If you are running a business your machine will be running 8 hours a day and any down time will cost you money and dissatisfied customers.
Don't just dive in, think it out.
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
Hypertherm PM45, Macair Dryer
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
16.9scfm@100psi, 16.0scfm@175psi
Miller 215 MultiMatic
RW 390E Slip Roll (Powered)
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
http://ikescreations.com
bobrl
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by bobrl »