Cutting Tolerances

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
SomethingMetal
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Cutting Tolerances

Post by SomethingMetal »

What kind of tolerances are you guys comfortable cutting? +- .015" or what? I cut some pieces for a company that did not supply me with tolerances and I assumed being what it was, it really wasn't that critical. I am a machinist my trade and I am use to dealing with tight tolerances but they are asking for a +- .005" and some only a +.005" on some aluminum switch panels. My sample pieces I gave to them were all within a .015" tolerance and most of them being within .008". I thought this was extremely good considering its not being but with an CNC milling machine. This pieces are also being cut from .090" 3000 series aluminum. What do you guys think? We are either going to come to an agreement on some tolerances or I am going to send back their deposit check minus parts and labor thus far. Maybe I am crazy but a tolerance like that could get me into alot of trouble and alot of money out of my pocket.
Samson 510
Hypertherm PM85
Largemouthlou
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Cutting Tolerances

Post by Largemouthlou »

They are looking for water jet or lazer quality!! I don't even think HD plasma can get that close..
1250 hypertherm
4 X 8 Precision Plasma
CandCnC electronics
SomethingMetal
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by SomethingMetal »

that is what I was thinking. +-.005" is just silly considering it is just a switch panel for rocker switches.
Samson 510
Hypertherm PM85
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »

The tolerances are too tight for production with an air plasma. You could likely pull it off with a high definition plasma....but I would say it is better suited for a laser (although the .005" is tight for that as well) or water jet. Probably would be best done on a cnc mill.