CNC Ballscrew router conversion build

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
RedBarnGarage
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

CNC Ballscrew router conversion build

Post by RedBarnGarage »

I've been playing with metal more than wood lately, so I figured I'd give plasma cutting a shot! I've never done it before, so this is all a new learning experience for me.

I'm looking to convert my current 1000mm X 1000mm Ball screw and linear rail router cnc, to a plasma table. My plan is to mount it on a steel frame with a water table. I have purchased a "Lotos Supreme LTP5500DCNC Non-Touch Pilot Arc CNC Enabled Digital Plasma Cutter with THC Torch Height Control Enabled"

My question is, about the THC "enabled" on the machine. Does this still require me to have a THC Controller as a separate unit? How does this "CNC enabled" plasma cutter differ from any other machine?

I will likely be using LinuxCNC if thats any help ..
Any guidance for the new guy is greatly appreciated!

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: CNC Ballscrew router conversion build

Post by weldguy »

Sounds like a fun project. Yes, you will need a THC controller for THC to operate your z axis. Not familiar with that plasma but cnc enabled likely means it has external wiring locations build into it for starting and stopping the plasma, arc voltage output, etc eliminating you from having to open the machine to make the connections manually. Keep us up to date with your progress.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »