Volts at torch way too low

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
ajk2004
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Volts at torch way too low

Post by ajk2004 »

Hey Guys,
I am new to the CNC world. I built my own table and bought the C and CNC bladerunner and I have a new HT 65. I have watched several vids online and feel confident enough in sheetcam and mach 3. I am just doing some test cuts and I have a question about my screen in mach and the cuts. I am having a difficult time making good cuts on metal. I am cutting 11 ga metal to test with. I have the feed at about 120ipm. The pierce delay is .5 seconds. The preset volts are 85. That is what the manual says. When I cut, the window on Mach 3 only reads at most, about 20 volts at the torch. If that number was at 85 or close to, I'm guessing my cuts would be much better. The mechanics of the machine look good. I get straight lines and circles, but the torch isn't cutting cleanly around the objects. I am a school teacher and we got a torchmate a couple of years ago. I'm not too impressed with it so I built my own machine. This machine will run circles around the torchmate but the software is a much steeper learning curve then torchmate CAD. With that being said, I think the possibilities are endless with inkscape or corel draw as opposed to TMCAD. Please help as I have no idea how to remedy this situation. The piece I am working on is probably 10" x 36" and I have the ground clamp on the piece I am cutting. I have a water table but no water in it currently as I am only in testing mode. Thanks for the help.
Andy
unnamed.jpg

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

trtilton61
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Re: Volts at torch way too low

Post by trtilton61 »