Machine Pauses at S20

Mach3 and Mach4 questions, tips and topics can be posted here
Post Reply
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

I have a path rule set up in Sheetcam that on start it turns on DTHC after .5" of movement. The code looks fine but Mach (or the machine?) pauses for approximately .3 seconds when the S20 code is read while running. Any idea where to start trouble shooting this one?
Thanks in advance :)
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
User avatar
SeanP
4 Star Member
4 Star Member
Posts: 950
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by SeanP »

I'm the same with the rules as well, if I use a arc lead in I don't get that pause on mine but using perpendicular I get the pause, no problem with holes using the perpendicular lead in as dthc is off on smaller diameters than 50mm.
It might not be that on yours, maybe depends what rules you have set, I have turn off dthc off at corners and it picks up the corner from the perpendicular leadin,,,,,,,well I think that's what's happening :)
Powermax XP45
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw
Table build gallery
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

Mine does the same no matter the lead in type. I have other problems with over lapping rules but first things first.
I'm wondering if there is a dwell setting in Mach for turning the spindle on? Thinking maybe the CandCNC S20 Mach is also reading it as a spindle speed change and adding a dwell after it? Just a thought.
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by tcaudle »

Multiple rules ina single cut can cause unexpected results. FDirst thing to do is test it with NO rules set. The thing that triggers a spinlde spinup is the M3 macro that says "DoSpinClockwise" meaning to start the spindle and if there are any spindle delays apply them. The S20 is a SPEED and only used if you have some way to control RPM. It depends on MACH version but there is no delay on S commands after 3.034.066

The reason S cpmmands are used is they get processed on the line as a "parameter" so there is no delay in motion. The "F conmmand is the same but needs to set motion feed-rates.
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

Thank you for the help Tom.
Ran the plasma without rules and it ran fine without any pauses.
Ran with just the S20 removed and the pause was gone. S10 was still in place at the end which the machine did not pause on.
Checked the spindle delay in the ports and pins configuration and they were all set to zero so guess that theory of mine is out the window.

Here is the code I was attempting to run. Just a straight line.

N0010 (Filename: 8in line.tap)
N0020 (Post processor: Eric DTHC-HYT-TAP_SoftPierce+Marker-rev11J.scpost)
N0030 (Date: 28/03/2016)
N0040 G20 (Units: Inches)
N0050 F1
N0060 G53 G90 G40
N0070 (Part: 8in line)
N0080 (Operation: No Offset, Unnamed Level 1, T5: Fine Cut-Mild-Steel-16ga)
N0090 (DTHC has been disabled in this tool)
N0100(Preset Volts: 79) (This code for use with Ether-Cut upgrade 12-19-14 or later)
N0110( Suggested Tip Size: 45 ) ( DTHC Delay: 3 sec )
N0120 ( Min Cut Length for DTHC ON : 1 units )
N0130 S900
N0140 S10 (DTHC ON/OFF is run by rules)
N0150 S379 (Preset Volts set to 79 Volts)
N0160 S530 (DTHC Delay set to 3 Seconds)
N0170 S711 (DTHCIV tuning set to level 1)
N0180 S701 (Clear S Register)
N0190 M00
N0200(Paused: Check the DTHC Settings Hit RUN to continue)
N0210 G00 Z2.000
N0220 X0.000 Y0.000
N0230 M900 (Check for Z active)
N0240 G00 Z0.25
N0250 G31 Z -0.98 F3.937 (Start Probe Touch-Off )
N0260 G92 Z0.0
N0270 G00 Z0.000 (Switch Offset Lift)
N0280 G92 Z0.0
N0290 G00 Z0.100
N0300 M03
N0310 G04 P0.15
N0320 G01 Z0.080 F200.0
N0330 X0.500 F100.0
N0340 S20 (DTHC ON) (On start)
N0350 X7.500
N0360 S10 (DTHC OFF) (Before end)
N0370 X8.000
N0380 M05
N0390 G00 Z2.000
N0400 X0.000
N0410 S900
N0420 S10 (DTHC is off)
N0430 S701 (Clear S Register)
N0440 M05 M30
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by tcaudle »

It may be set for a min RPM in MACH. Setup and get it into Single Step mode and watch each line of code execute by hitting RUN. Start out with the Torch off and DTHC in Manual and watch it for in stop motion.
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

Ran in single step but didn't notice anything odd.
Although I did not fully understand what you wanted. Stepped though the program fine, at the S2o it ran the code but could not tell if it paused since I was running in single step mode.
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

Now I have run into two more odd issues. The machine is not dwelling at all when reading a G04 PXX and my limit switches are no longer functioning.
I have duel purpose limit/homing switches that were working fine. Now they only home okay but not perform there over-travel limit switch function anymore. I checked the ports and pins configuration and the settings are still correct.
Think it's time to uninstall Mach and start fresh :(
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by tcaudle »

Limits don't work if you are doing a homing move. What version of MACH3 are you running? older version of MACH had a pause on an S command.
Make sure youhave done the updates for the EtherCut and updated the DTHCIV firmware to version 8 AFTER you do the update
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

Yes limits do not work while homing witch is correct but they also do not work as limits at all anymore.

Thought I was running the latest Mach but I did update the DTHCIV firmware BEFORE updating Mach3.
I'll check which mach version I'm running when I get back home and report back.

Thanks for the help. :)
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
Eric - Plasma
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:47 pm

Re: Machine Pauses at S20

Post by Eric - Plasma »

I have MACH3 Version R3.043.067
The last update I ran was "EtherCut Updater 09/20/15" but not 100% sure if it was before or after the MACH update. My hub says version 1.9
DIY CNC 4'X4' Plasma table with water table.
Hypertherm Powemax 1000 with modified hand torch
CANDCNC BladeRunner Dragon Cut 620-4 EtherCut, DTHCIV and Feather Touch Ohmic Sensor
Mach3, Sheetcam
Post Reply

Return to “Mach3 & Mach4 CNC”