plunge rate ? in sheetcam

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
HammerDownJustin
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

plunge rate ? in sheetcam

Post by HammerDownJustin »

I am new to this and working with my table..Im still getting some dragging from my thc..but main question is what is a good rule of thumb on the plunge rate? I am running candcnc electronics with a hypertherm 65 and shielded 65amp tip right now on 3/16" plate while testing..im getting a dryer this week and noticed some moister in my air hose so it might be messing with the thc and the metal was 20 year old red iron plate slightly rusty
Home built 5x10 table CandCNC electronics
Miller 251 Mig
And lots of other cool stuff...
I Lean
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: plunge rate ? in sheetcam

Post by I Lean »

I don't know if there is a rule of thumb, but I have mine set at 100 IPM also. It only controls how fast your torch will move from your rapid height, down toward your pierce height. (or toward your initial height sensing)
BTA Plasma
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by BTA Plasma »

Also don't forget to go to config/homing limits in Mach3 and change your Z axis home speed from 20% to 100% to get the full 100ipm.
HammerDownJustin
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

Dangit I forgot to change the 20%...thank everyone for there help
Miller 251 Mig
beefy
4.5 Star Member
4.5 Star Member

Post by beefy »

I just set mine the same as the feedrate or even faster if the feedrate is a slow one. Your pierce delay gives time for the torch to blow a hole through so if the plunge rate was slow then effectively it's like the pierce delay being extended. This could potentially cause a loss of arc if the pierce hole gets too big.

My thinking is once the hole is made, get the torch down to cut height straight away so the hole doesn't get too big.