It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:11 pm

 

Powermax 85 wiring

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
rcecarbldr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:34 pm

Powermax 85 wiring

Postby rcecarbldr » Mon May 14, 2018 10:25 am

Good Morning! I just took delivery of my new Powermax 85 which will soon be used the majority of the time on my soon to be purchased plasma table. This unit came with a 4 wire pigtail already installed. My shop is wired with single phase 220 outlets and the outlets are a 50 amp 3 prong style. Can I keep the pigtail installed in this unit and just eliminate one wire or would I be best to install a 4 prong end on the pigtail and get an RV style adapter? I obviously need to keep the amperage capabilities as high as possible for the machine. TIA

djreiswig
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Powermax 85 wiring

Postby djreiswig » Mon May 14, 2018 11:59 am

I used the original cable on my 65, just rewired it for 1ph & put the proper end on it.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

plasmartist
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Powermax 85 wiring

Postby plasmartist » Mon May 14, 2018 12:57 pm

If you read your manual you will find a wiring diagram. The 85 is capable of being wired for 3 phase and single phase. My understanding is that the 4th wire is for 3 phase wiring. I have mine wired with 3 wires on a standard welding plug. It has been running great that way for 3 years now. However I will say that I dont really know what size breake4r you are supposed to use, I believe I am running a 100 amp on mine since both legs on the switch say 50 but I'm no electrician. That's my 2 cents and have fun

rcecarbldr
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:34 pm

Re: Powermax 85 wiring

Postby rcecarbldr » Mon May 14, 2018 3:42 pm

The problem is no regular dryer type outlet is rated for anything over 50 amps that I've seen. I just recently purchased a new Lincoln Electric Precision 275 TIG machine and I hard wired it straight into the breaker box to a 100amp breaker using 25 feet of 4/3 SOOW cable because I couldn't find any properly rated outlets.

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2904
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Powermax 85 wiring

Postby jimcolt » Wed May 16, 2018 9:49 am

Clip off the red wire, the white and black are the 220 volt power legs, green is ground. Depending on what you are cutting you will have line draw between 30 and as much as 98 amps. This materials use less line amperage, thick materials use more. Most run the 85 on a 60 amp circuit, though I know of some getting away with 50 amps. If you do a lot of 3/4" steel.....you could trip a 50 or 60 amp breaker after a few feet of cut. Jim Colt Hypertherm

rcecarbldr wrote:Good Morning! I just took delivery of my new Powermax 85 which will soon be used the majority of the time on my soon to be purchased plasma table. This unit came with a 4 wire pigtail already installed. My shop is wired with single phase 220 outlets and the outlets are a 50 amp 3 prong style. Can I keep the pigtail installed in this unit and just eliminate one wire or would I be best to install a 4 prong end on the pigtail and get an RV style adapter? I obviously need to keep the amperage capabilities as high as possible for the machine. TIA


Return to “Hypertherm Plasma Cutters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SegoMan DeSigns and 0 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's