It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:32 pm

 

Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Plasma Cut Quality can often be an issue for many of us. Check here if you have plasma cut quality issues. Ask a question, look for advice, post a helpful tip here.
MountainGoat
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:42 am

Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby MountainGoat » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:14 pm

I have a nested file I created in SheetCam. When I run it on Mach3, it is cutting the same place over again a few times until the table floods over the top of the steel from all of the air blowing in the one hole, then it shuts itself off.

I can't figure out why it's not moving on to the other shapes in the file

Can someone look at the file and my screen shot of Mach3 at shutdown and see what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
Jennifer

User avatar
WyoGreen
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby WyoGreen » Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:06 pm

We would love to look at your file if you would attach it.

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
CNC Router table

MountainGoat
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:42 am

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby MountainGoat » Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:20 pm

Steve,

Thank you for replying! I was hoping attach a file was an option, but this was my first post on my husbands account so I wasn't quite sure what I was doing.

I have been trying to set up my own account, but I never get the confirmation email for some reason.

I just remade this file from scratch, and it is working fine now. Something happened (user error) at some point, but for now the problem is fixed!

Thanks for being there!
Jennifer

MountainGoat
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:42 am

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby MountainGoat » Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:32 pm

Uh - Oh . . . I wasn't having a problem with the new file . . . . until I ran the torch off the edge of the material. I thought it sensed the edge and wouldn't cut over it if I accidentally got my "nests" too close to the edge. I even thought I had enough gap but I guess my initial lineup was too far in, pushing my final output too far out.

The machine is now stuck off the edge, with the nozzle in the water. I don't know what to do. The 3 button to raise the torch head is not working.

Ahhh! Any suggestions? Using Mach3 Trucut machine with a Hypertherm 65.

-Jennifer

Old Iron
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby Old Iron » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:06 pm

Click the Stop button then try to move the Z up

MountainGoat
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:42 am

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby MountainGoat » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:46 pm

Oh thank you so much. I was pushing the controller to raise the torch and it wasn't working. You gave me the confidence to keep trying and after about five tries it finally raised.

I feel silly with all of my questions! But I sure am excited to learn and create new things!

jason.jason.p
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby jason.jason.p » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:24 am

MountainGoat wrote:Oh thank you so much. I was pushing the controller to raise the torch and it wasn't working. You gave me the confidence to keep trying and after about five tries it finally raised.

I feel silly with all of my questions! But I sure am excited to learn and create new things!


You will have better luck using the keyboard number pad to raise and lower the torch when not cutting (just jogging around the table) the THC controller is mainly for when actually cutting. To move the torch up and down with the controller make sure the THC button is black and the AUTO button is white. otherwise your inputs will have no effect as its trying to do it automatically. But for jogging around the table or when trying to lift the torch out of the water, just use the keyboard. Also make sure the ANTI-DIVE button on the controller is black and you will be much less likely to have the torch dive into the water if it runs off the sheet. (also very helpful when cutting holes) I've provided a link to Trucut's keyboard legend. This relates to the number pad on the keyboard where 9 is Z-up 3 is Z-down 1 is ZERO ALL...etc MAKE SURE you have the NUMLOCK activated in the keyboard.

http://www.trucutcnc.com/S1-Manual/keypad-legend.jpg

jason.jason.p
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby jason.jason.p » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:28 am

As far as it cutting the same hole over and over I would guess there is a problem with the drawing where there are multiple copies of the same hole right on top of one another in the same layer. although Sheetcam should have removed duplicate vectors when importing the file.

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: Sheetcam cutting same spot over and over

Postby SeanP » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:13 am

It's probably come about when using multiple duplicate when nesting in sheetcam, have had it happen a few times.
Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery


Return to “Plasma Cut Quality Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's