It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:01 am

 

Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Arclight Hardware discussion forum.
drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:13 pm

Arclight Dynamics would like to impart onto you our knowledge. If you have general questions about Sheetcam, Mach 3, Inkscape, Solid Edge, or would just like to chat with someone at Arclight Dynamics about specifics of our products, then make a post and we will be happy to answer your questions. :idea:

We plan on reliably posting answers to your comments every Wednesday. :mrgreen:

We're looking forward to seeing what you have for us.


~Drossmaker

User avatar
Ghost
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:26 pm
Location: Richland, MS
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Ghost » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:30 pm

Should be a great thing, can't wait.
601Metalworks
Richland, MS

Arclight Dynamics 9600
Hypertherm PM65

[email protected]

User avatar
little blue choo
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:38 pm
Location: Cherryville NC
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby little blue choo » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:21 pm

Received my Arclight 9600 about a month ago and haven't got it up and running yet. I have been finishing up a Trackless Train order and haven't had time to get started. I called my electrician today to install a larger electrical service in the rear of my shop. I have a 200 amp service in the front part of the shop and only a 60 amp in the rear. I should be posting questions and CALLING in a few weeks. LOL
Rick
Arclight 9600 4x8 table
Hypertherm PM65
Acc. Plate Marker, 4 inch Pipe Cutter, Wood Router package
Quincy Q54 compressor 2 stage, 5hp, 60 gal
Refrigerated air dryer & 4 stage filtration system
Software Mach 3, Sheetcam, Solid Edge 2D, Inkscape

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Wed Apr 22, 2015 7:17 pm

little blue choo,

We'll be happy to answer any of your questions.

Here is a link to the specs for your Hypertherm Powermax 65:

https://arclightcnc.com/plasma-cutter/powermax-65/

I hope this link helps.

~Drossmaker

bluefish
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby bluefish » Wed May 06, 2015 3:47 pm

Any suggestions on how to set up a crane system (or any solution) for placing large sheets of metal on the plasma table? I am thinking of setting up a conveyor roller on the left side of the table, but I would love to see what solutions other people are using.

Thanks in advance.

-Rich

User avatar
tnbndr
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:30 pm
Location: New Berlin, WI
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby tnbndr » Thu May 07, 2015 8:09 am

bluefish:
Not an Arclight table but a material handling solution.

viewtopic.php?f=87&t=16152
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
PM45
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
[email protected], [email protected]
Miller 211
RW 390E Slip Roll
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
https://www.facebook.com/ikescreations?ref=hl
http://ikescreations.com

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Thu May 07, 2015 11:58 am

Rich,

Regardless of your set up, the best practice is to have a system that will lower or set your steel onto the table. We would suggest using a magnetic lift, utilizing a gantry crane or jib lift (off of a fork lift).

~drossmaker

Brew Worx
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Brew Worx » Wed May 27, 2015 5:38 am

Can the computer be mounter on either side? The photos show table right. Is there the ability to mount on the Left hand side like a refrigerator door?

The material loading post above has me thinking of perfect shop floor location. In a large open shop, it may not matter. In a tighter garage bay, its a planning consideration.

Great thread here.
Brew Worx.
Blue Frog Metal Works
Chicagoland
Arclight 4800 :D :D
Hypertherm 45
4 inch tube cutter
Mach 3, SheetCAM, Solid Edge 2D, Solid Works 3D, CREO, Inkscape, and a few cobb webs

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Wed May 27, 2015 1:06 pm

In short, we are able to mount our cabinets on either side of the table. We also have a mobile cabinet feature as well, where the cabinet is tethered to the table with a 25' umbilical.

~drossmaker

oregonsigns
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:42 am

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby oregonsigns » Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:55 am

HI SCOTT, I AM TRYING TO CUT A SLOT IN NEW CHAIN SAW BARS THAT ARE POWDERCOATED AND I AM BATTLING WITH THE TORCH DRAGGING. I DON'T WANT TO HAVE TO GRIND ALL THE POWDWERCOAT OFF. SHOULD I JUST TURN OFF THC? IF SO, DO I JUST BUMP THE TORCH UP A BIT FROM THE METAL? ALSO, HAVE YOU DONE ANY R & D ON A PEN HOLDER. I HAVE THE ENGRAVER, BUT IT PUSHES THE SCRAP AROUND.

RUSS

User avatar
Team Tracker
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Team Tracker » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:51 am

For sure, just turn the THC off and manually set your torch to work distance to the recommended height specified in your plasma cutters manual. You may need to bare the PC off at the pierce location at the start of your lead in depending on how thick the PC is.
Image
1-800-590-7804

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:23 pm

oregonsigns,

Turning off your THC will work. Keep in mind that if there are large undulations in your part you may run into issue. As Reid T stated it is best to use the recommended torch to work distance for your piece. My recommendation would be to make your cuts with the THC off or leave the THC on and bump up your Preset Volts in Mach either prior to hitting run of on the fly; until you see that desired cutting height.

To the plate marker. We have done a lot of R&D. The plate marker will move smaller pieces of steel around. We suggest securing your work down if it is going to be etched on a smaller piece of material.

~drossmaker

Brew Worx
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Brew Worx » Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:57 pm

With the announcement of the new faster controller, whats the cost upgrade for 2 month old tables? Is it cost effective to upgrade?
Brew Worx.
Blue Frog Metal Works
Chicagoland
Arclight 4800 :D :D
Hypertherm 45
4 inch tube cutter
Mach 3, SheetCAM, Solid Edge 2D, Solid Works 3D, CREO, Inkscape, and a few cobb webs

Brew Worx
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Brew Worx » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:55 am

Hey Team Arclight,

Would this be a good location to ask questions about the standard software that comes on the Arclight systems? Freeware License and what not.....

In particular, Solid work goes stale after 12 months. Maybe a good place of a reference of next steps. Even if the answer is go see the manual on page 12.

Just a thought.

BTW, it seems just like yesterday when we were in Bend getting the awesome training. Cant believe its been almost a year already.
Brew Worx.
Blue Frog Metal Works
Chicagoland
Arclight 4800 :D :D
Hypertherm 45
4 inch tube cutter
Mach 3, SheetCAM, Solid Edge 2D, Solid Works 3D, CREO, Inkscape, and a few cobb webs

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:54 pm

Brew Worx,
Are you wanting to update Solid Edge? If that is the case we can email you the license and instructions for the instal. Let us know.

~drossmaker

2015cmax
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:31 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby 2015cmax » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:46 am

bluefish wrote:Any suggestions on how to set up a crane system (or any solution) for placing large sheets of metal on the plasma table? I am thinking of setting up a conveyor roller on the left side of the table, but I would love to see what solutions other people are using.

Thanks in advance.

-Rich


Without knowing the size of material you plan on working with, one option might be an overhead "I" beam and a trolley.
That will be my plan, then I do not intend to work with much over 3/8"plate. Maybe the occasional small sized 1/2". When
I built my shop I used 4X12 manufactured beams 4 foot on center, so the weight I will deal with will not be an issue.

Brew Worx
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Brew Worx » Thu May 05, 2016 10:22 pm

drossmaker wrote:Brew Worx,
Are you wanting to update Solid Edge? If that is the case we can email you the license and instructions for the instal. Let us know.

~drossmaker



Hey Guys,

Can you shoot me the License and instructions for the install?
Brew Worx.
Blue Frog Metal Works
Chicagoland
Arclight 4800 :D :D
Hypertherm 45
4 inch tube cutter
Mach 3, SheetCAM, Solid Edge 2D, Solid Works 3D, CREO, Inkscape, and a few cobb webs

seajinx
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:50 am

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby seajinx » Tue May 10, 2016 2:35 am

Shield rides against metal, Somewhere along the line some setting changed and I'm not sure when, where, or how it happened. Need help Drossmaker. I'm using up consumables like crazy. I have the 1200 table with hypertherm 85 using 45 Amp tips machine set at 45 Amps. After about 3-4 minutes of cutting I get error 0-30 on Plasma machine, telling me the Consumable is stuck. I clean it out replace it, clean the shield and it works for about 3-4 minutes. The shield goes down and touches the metal goes up but not far enough to clear the sheet metal.

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:58 pm

seanjinx,

I think you might be working with Joe B. on this. Check your plunge safety clearance in SheetCam.

SheetCam > Options > Job Options > Plunge safety clearance ( it will be at the bottom of the window; set to at least .75

~drossmaker

give us a call if you would like further troubleshooting.

Brew Worx
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:52 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby Brew Worx » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:54 pm

Hey there again guys.

I have a very good customer asking me if I can cut Titanium.
Have you guys ever tried Ti?
Brew Worx.
Blue Frog Metal Works
Chicagoland
Arclight 4800 :D :D
Hypertherm 45
4 inch tube cutter
Mach 3, SheetCAM, Solid Edge 2D, Solid Works 3D, CREO, Inkscape, and a few cobb webs

User avatar
little blue choo
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1300
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:38 pm
Location: Cherryville NC
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby little blue choo » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:08 pm

My designedge is asking me to renew my license but every time I go to their website to do so I get diverted to a page trying to get me to update to a new version which I really don't want to do. How do I get the code to enter?

Thanks
Rick
Rick
Arclight 9600 4x8 table
Hypertherm PM65
Acc. Plate Marker, 4 inch Pipe Cutter, Wood Router package
Quincy Q54 compressor 2 stage, 5hp, 60 gal
Refrigerated air dryer & 4 stage filtration system
Software Mach 3, Sheetcam, Solid Edge 2D, Inkscape

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Arclight Dynamics Questions and Answers

Postby drossmaker » Thu Jul 21, 2016 12:12 pm

Rick,

Are speaking about Solid Edge 2D? If so, shoot an email to [email protected]. We will send you Instructions on licensing and instal. That instal process should take all of 2 minutes.

~drossmaker


Return to “Arclight Dynamics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest