It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:26 am

 

Linux

Arclight Hardware discussion forum.
rwskinner
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:44 pm

Linux

Postby rwskinner » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:00 pm

Does Arclight have any plans to have a CommandCNC version?

Richard

drossmaker
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:36 am
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Linux

Postby drossmaker » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:43 am

rwskinner,

We are always doing R&D and exploring ways provide the best product possible.

~drossmaker

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Linux

Postby motoguy » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:29 am

It's my understanding that Arclight, LDR and Bulltear will all be moving to the CommandCNC controller on Jan 1.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

rwskinner
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: Linux

Postby rwskinner » Sat Feb 04, 2017 8:08 am

:) I guess they have to since Tom said he wouldn't sell any Mach systems after Jan 1. I still do see Mach systems on his site tho...

tcaudle
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Linux

Postby tcaudle » Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:30 pm

We have pushed the MACH systems cease fire date to mid Feb but we have virtually no new individual systems going out with Windows/MACH. It takes some time for OEMs to move over and learn the new system. We still will sell a MACH system to someone that already has that type setup and just wants to update hardware. Once you get to the latest EtherCut hardware technology its pretty easy to move to LINUX/CommandCNC.

comeoutswingin
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Re: Linux

Postby comeoutswingin » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:23 pm

I've got the ethercut on my LDR, I am interested in switching to commandCNC. for me is it a simple computer/OS swap or do I have to update the controller box too?

Looking at your website I'm slightly confused between the $450 retrofit and the $1100 EtherCut Linux + CommandCNC Upgrade.
5x10 LDR

tcaudle
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Linux

Postby tcaudle » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:37 pm

Here is how that works.

If you send in the Ethercut control box to us we update it and send it back with a LINUX PC . If you do not want the delay and shipping expenses you buy the whole sub assembly (with PC) and swap it out. There is no refund on the old Ethercut sub assembly.

We structured it that way because we can do it in about 10 minutes and test it but we have no control over what happens in your shop! :shock:

comeoutswingin
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Re: Linux

Postby comeoutswingin » Mon Feb 06, 2017 9:13 pm

Makes sense. Is a different post processor required or is it a hook it up and be running like before?

I've watched the videos on youtube about commandCNC and what really is pushing me towards doing this is the view screen, for following cut activity, (cut and uncut parts during the program) With mach 3, my screen is about 3"x3" and I cannot see what is taking place when I need to know without zooming in a million times.

Does command CNC auto-fit to screen resolution?
5x10 LDR

tcaudle
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Linux

Postby tcaudle » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:24 pm

You need a high res monitor (at least 1024 vertical ) . You can resize the screen by dragging side or corner but some objects stay the same size like the buttons and DROs The Toolpath can be made bigger or smaller and the zoom function is tied to the center wheel on a mouse. Have the onscreen rulers is nice too. it works REALLY good on a 1920 X 1080 HDMI screen and I run a 23 monitor with 1920 X 1280

GEON
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:28 pm

Re: Linux

Postby GEON » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:58 pm

Will there be an upgrade path for the Windows/Mach users? I would like to get my table updated!!!
GEON, on the left coast...

Arclight Dynamics 6000 Pro 5x5
Hypertherm 65

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Linux

Postby motoguy » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:04 pm

Yes. There's a $450 upgrade path (you send them your box, they update and ship it back w/ linux computer), or a $1100 updgrade path (they send new components for your box, with Linux computer. You install new components in your box).

https://www.candcnc.com/product-category/field-upgrades/
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

tcaudle
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Linux

Postby tcaudle » Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:57 pm

The 450 deal is for an upgrade from Ethercut Windows MACH with the DTHCIV. If you have the older Parallel port or DTHCII system you need to do the hardware replacement for 1100.00.
You might contact Arclight. They are going to offer an upgrade path as well.

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Linux

Postby motoguy » Thu May 04, 2017 1:02 pm

Just placed my order for the CommandCNC upgrade and the hand pendant. Boxing up my unit and will have it shipped today. Looking forward to the Linux setup.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam


Return to “Arclight Dynamics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest