Sign Spacing/ Backplate

Share tips and tricks regarding cut cutting, material handling, metal finishing, marketing, or anything you find helpful.
conz35
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Sign Spacing/ Backplate

Post by conz35 »

Hey guys newbie here.I tried searching in the forum but couldnt find the answer/pics about sign spacing/ backplate. Ive been hand cutting plasma signs and xmas gifts for family and friends and I wanted to try out some 3d stlye signs. What I mean is I want to have a logo with words underneath raised off a back plate. How are you guys doing this? I read about using bolts welded to the back of the logo or lettering but that would alot of bolts and washers/etc. Is there any easier way? Any advice or pictures is appreciated.
Gamelord
4.5 Star Member
4.5 Star Member

Re: Sign Spacing/ Backplate

Post by Gamelord »

It really depends on the sign size, what type of finish you are looking for and how far you need it to stand off. There are many ways to do this. You can use bent metal tabs welded/glued/epoxied, metal tubes with bolts running through them, welded nuts, washers, etc... It all depends on the size and what type of finish you are looking for.

Welded nuts is super simple and gives you the ability to take the sign apart should you ever need to do that (access to lights or cleaning). It also gives a nice smooth finish on the front without bolts showing. For permanent signs, I have even welded the nuts and then tack-welded the bolts just to make sure it never comes loose over time.

For multiple colors (one color on the front, another on the backplate) the welded nuts is great, especially for powder coating. Makes it super simple to work with and if it is solid colors, no need to tape or mask.
Once you take flight, your eyes will forever be turned to the sky." "Lack of appreciation is the worlds biggest crime."

Torchmate 6x14 w/THC Downdraft
Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 101
Corel Draw / Adobe Illustrator
Torchmate CAD
conz35
1.5 Star Member