How to Make an Income from plasma cutting?

Learn & share techniques, strategies, and experiences on marketing your plasma cut products in this forum.
shiver
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

How to Make an Income from plasma cutting?

Post by shiver »

Hi all,

So, we've had our table for a couple months now. Starting to get the hang of it, yet still a learning process for sure. And, yes, we've wasted a good share of metal in the process. We've mainly made some art pieces for us, friends and family. Team logos. I need to expand on how to generate a regular monthly income from this.

Would any of you care to share on what has been successful for you? Are you cutting mainly metal art? If so, what have you found to be your most sought after pieces?

Are you cutting parts for various clients? If so, how do you find companies who need parts cut for them? How do you price/bid on that type of work?

I'm no expert but, I know CorelDraw quite well from doing t shirt and vinyl graphics. Things are a little different with metal, but I'm getting the hang of that too.

Thank you for any advice you care to share. Much appreciated.

Vicki
vmax549
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: How to Make an Income from plasma cutting?

Post by vmax549 »

First thing to remember is that ALL team logos and any copyrighted or trademarked images are off limits to you IF you do not have permission to use them. MOST trademarkeds item are aggressivily protected and they WILL find you sooner or later (;-). There are companies that do NOTHING else but look for violators of the professional teams and college teams trademarked images.

So how do you make a million bucks with plasma cutting, easy start with 2 million. There is a very large market area for metal arts and commercial cutting BUT there are also a large number of companies already doing it local ,national and foreign. Try to find a niche market and get with it. THey are out their you just have to look for them.

(;-) TP
Capstone
4 Star Member