It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:34 am

 

Plasma Pricing app...

Learn & share techniques, strategies, and experiences on marketing your plasma cut products in this forum.
davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:44 am

motoguy wrote:Thanks!


All done, seems a good addition.

I have also tidied up the save/update function and a few other tweaks.

User avatar
tnbndr
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1411
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:30 pm
Location: New Berlin, WI
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby tnbndr » Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:20 am

Looks good!
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
PM45
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
[email protected], [email protected]
Miller 211
RW 390E Slip Roll
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
https://www.facebook.com/ikescreations?ref=hl
http://ikescreations.com

User avatar
AdrianH
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: Blackburn England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby AdrianH » Thu May 18, 2017 3:52 pm

Just to say thanks Dave for the application (Program)!

I downloaded it yesterday and must admit to struggling a lot with it to get it to run under Windows 10. main issues have been with the file path to where it decides to store it's working files, but got it working and found it was miles out. Finally sorted by manually entering in the files direct £ and cm units (2 hours later, I hate new windows).

Anyway I have also installed it on my Linux desktop under wine which is a windows simulator and I have it working within 10 minutes of starting.

So now to get used to the program and see how it fits for me.

Thanks again

Adrian

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Thu May 18, 2017 3:58 pm

Excellent, thanks for the update.

I do apologise to all for the slightly out of date installer - i learnt Visual Basic many many years ago and just stuck with it, i'm too old to start afresh with a new language now, not got the time or the inclination TBH :)

Windows 10 really does bend things but it generally works in the end, great you got it going on Linux too :)

matze-atze-sch
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby matze-atze-sch » Sat May 20, 2017 4:55 am

Hey Adrian,

can you tell us how you get it to run under Windows 10?

Best regards
Marcel

User avatar
AdrianH
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:08 pm
Location: Blackburn England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby AdrianH » Sat May 20, 2017 6:54 am

matze-atze-sch wrote:Hey Adrian,

can you tell us how you get it to run under Windows 10?

Best regards
Marcel


With about 2 hours of struggle, but here goes.

Run the installer as Dave has set out and then unzip the update and install that over the installed executable.

The above should!!! be in C:\Program Files(x86)\Plasma Estimator\

Now as I run Sheetcam I have placed a few directories in my documents for this and for sheetcam to output files, so I have the following folders:
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Gcode
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Jobs
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Machine
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Materials
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Operations
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Parts
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Posts
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Project Group
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Reports
C:\Users\Adrian\Documents\Sheetcam\Tools

Some of the above are used from Sheetcam, i.e. where I put my own posts for Sheetcam to use, Tools for my own plasma tools. Reports where Sheetcam output it's reports. etc.

Some I made up for plasma estimator.

setup.png


In the setup for Plasma estimator I have the file locations as above.

I have also created a shortcut folder on the desktop point to :
C:\Users\Adrian\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\program Files (x86)\Plasma estimator v3

That way I could change the files directly.

One problem I had took a while to solve and that was the units were never correct until I changed 'file system units.txt' to be in my case
"£"
"cm"

After that the output started to become more realistic.

I hope the idea helps, I am struggling to determine for myself what is a reasonable rate when I only do this as a hobby what one charges in the UK for a pierce grinding dross off etc (yes I have dross as hobby setup and not Hypertherm etc). I get asked occasionally to cut things out and if I have the steel I will, but sometimes I do not wish to be under-valued and on the other hand do not wish to be too expensive to put friends off. The idea is if I can put the info in the program it gives a justification to reasonable costs.


Anyway have a play with the above see if it works and gets Daves program working on more computers, I have not played a lot with it on windos as I got it to run in Linux.

Adrian

Forgot to say in Windows explorer I have to change the settings so I could see system files and folders and hidden files etc.

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Sat May 20, 2017 7:44 am

Thanks for that Adrian, it all helps as i do not have Win10 to play with here :)

As for rates, don't undersell yourself just because its a hobby. I would suggest two rates, a 'friends' rate and a 'shop' rate, both are below commercial rates but maybe go with something like £25 & £50 per hour respectively, materials - always double the cost to cover handling, stacking, storing, loading and unloading your table and to cover some of the cost in tidying up - dross etc, I have Hypertherm and still get dross, it goes with the job i think especially on arty stuff, straight cuts are usually ok.

motoguy
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:42 am

Fresh windows install (Win7 64)...time to download this handy little guy again! Just wish I'd kept my stored info on sheet pricing! lol
Last edited by motoguy on Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

motoguy
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:34 pm

Annnnd of course, it's not working now. LOl I d/l and installed the "original" installer. Installed program. Downloaded the updated .exe file, and copied over the (old) .exe in the installed directory.

Opened everything, it worked fine. Changed settings in setup ($, inches, labor rates, etc). Deleted all the materials out of the list, as I was going to add mine in. Closed the program before adding in the new materials. When I re-open the program, it opens fine. If I click on the "setup" option, I just get the spinny-wheel until it crashes. If I try to load a part, I get "Run Time error '339': Component 'mscomctl.ocx' or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid".

I've uninstalled and reinstalled a few times now with no success. Ideas on a repair?

ETA: I d/l mscomctl.ocx, and installed in the syswow64 directory. Registered it using command prompt (as admin) regsvr32. Re-ran the program, using XP compatibility mode. I'm not sure which of these fixed the problem, but it's now up and running. :)

ETA: Well, spoke too soon. Tried to open it again, same problem. Going to properties, and forcing it to run in Win XP SP2 compatibility mode seems to have fixed it. I've opened/closed it several time now without problem.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:48 pm

I had the same issue, you need to copy the dll into two places, one was syswow and the other was system32 IIRC, it was on the web somewhere.

The wonders of windows.

I think the issue is caused by the installer being too old - this cant be fixed I'm afraid :(

motoguy
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:00 pm

davek0974 wrote:I had the same issue, you need to copy the dll into two places, one was syswow and the other was system32 IIRC, it was on the web somewhere.

The wonders of windows.

I think the issue is caused by the installer being too old - this cant be fixed I'm afraid :(


Good call. Copied it into system32 as well, then disabled "run in XP SP2" compatibility setting. Seems to be working fine.

Everything seemed to be working fine until I made changes in setup (check boxes, labor amount, removed -all- material). Did something there cause the initial choke? Perhaps having the materials list be empty?
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:07 pm

Maybe - i always had at least one material loaded :)


Return to “Pricing, Advertising, & Marketing Your Products Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's