It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:11 pm

 

Plasma Pricing app...

Learn & share techniques, strategies, and experiences on marketing your plasma cut products in this forum.
davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Fri Jul 15, 2016 2:11 am

This sounds like Windows again :( I guess you are on 7 or 10 ?

Read back through this thread as there are some fixes there somewhere.

It's something I have no power over as I still work in XP ;)

It does work, its just that Windows in it mighty power? decides to save your data somewhere that the app cant find it!

User avatar
tnbndr
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:30 pm
Location: New Berlin, WI
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby tnbndr » Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:51 am

Brett:
Best to let Dave know what version of Windows etc that you are running. Have you scanned through this entire thread? There are some issues with Windows 10 saving the files in a different folder that you need to path the program to.
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
PM45
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
[email protected], [email protected]
Miller 211
RW 390E Slip Roll
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
https://www.facebook.com/ikescreations?ref=hl
http://ikescreations.com

Brett
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby Brett » Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:38 pm

Hi tnbndr,
I did scan the thread. Maybe I missed a fix or directions for it. I am running Windows 10. Was there a fix for it? If so I will try and scan the pages again and find the directions on how to install this correctly.

Also, I am wondering about the method for pricing the cut distance. It appears that this is priced off the thickness of the metal and the cost of the metal with an adjustable %. Is this common or is there a better method being used to calculate this cost?

Thanks

User avatar
tnbndr
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:30 pm
Location: New Berlin, WI
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby tnbndr » Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:18 pm

Basically what the program is doing is opening the default files that Dave setup although Windows 10 creates new versions with your settings it saves them where the program doesn't look for them. That is why Dave added a section where you can put the paths to your files. In one of the posts I have the location of where Windows 10 saves them, I don't recall off the top of my head.
First step is also to get the report into the SheetCam folder. I would print this thread and follow it closely as I got it all to work but it took some trial and error.
Basically what you have to do is open your file in SheetCam and do a report and save that report which you will open in the Estimator program. It will pickup all the information on cut inches, pierces, etc and price them per your settings.
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
PM45
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
[email protected], [email protected]
Miller 211
RW 390E Slip Roll
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
https://www.facebook.com/ikescreations?ref=hl
http://ikescreations.com

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:51 pm

Brett wrote:Hi tnbndr,
Also, I am wondering about the method for pricing the cut distance. It appears that this is priced off the thickness of the metal and the cost of the metal with an adjustable %. Is this common or is there a better method being used to calculate this cost?

Thanks


Google "Jim Colt plasma pricing". This program basically works off of the pricing structure Jim put out there. Ie, it's all based off of metal cost. The short version:

1) find your metal cost per sq in (say, $0.025)
2) double that ($0.05)
3) that is what you charge per square inch for your cuts ($0.05 per sq inch of material used in design)
4) you charge this same amount per cut inch ($0.05 per cut inch)
5) and same amount per pierce ($0.05 per pierce)

The program is just a handy way of quickly storing and pulling this information up. Jim describes his reasoning for this in one of his posts. Long story...he tried keeping track of consumables, electricity used, cut time, etc etc etc. In the end, the method above ended up being "close enough" with much less hassle. As he has said, "it may have you a little high for your market, or a little low, but you'll be in the ballpark". Tweak from there.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

Brett
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby Brett » Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:13 pm

Thanks tnbndr and motoguy! I appreciate the input.

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:24 pm

Hi all, been a bit busy here, apologies for no reply and thanks for the support guys.

All advice here is spot on re windows 10, its a right PITA and i have no reason why it saves the files were it thinks best but fails to let the app edit them properly again.

As for the pricing method, it's really just one option as explained above. It does seem to work pretty well though. You can also work on labour plus materials etc, there are many ways to crack the egg. You will see it has two labour rates too, I use the low one for budget items that i call stock lines, and the normal or high rate for all other work, again it just makes it a little easier.

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:31 am

App is still going, lots of users now, all seem to like it and it's free ;)

arcspark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby arcspark » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:07 pm

Dave,

Just downloaded the program, its a huge help!

Is there a way to select when printing just a "customer view", that specifically does not show materials at cost?

mdwalker
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:20 am

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby mdwalker » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:23 pm

arcspark wrote:Dave,

Just downloaded the program, its a huge help!

Is there a way to select when printing just a "customer view", that specifically does not show materials at cost?


The Excel spreadsheet that I posted a few years back can be printed without showing the materials cost.
viewtopic.php?f=88&t=9565

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:54 pm

arcspark wrote:Dave,

Just downloaded the program, its a huge help!

Is there a way to select when printing just a "customer view", that specifically does not show materials at cost?



I can add a feature for this, is it just the material At-cost that wants hiding?

Should be pretty quick

arcspark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby arcspark » Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:18 pm

davek0974 wrote:
arcspark wrote:Dave,

Just downloaded the program, its a huge help!

Is there a way to select when printing just a "customer view", that specifically does not show materials at cost?



I can add a feature for this, is it just the material At-cost that wants hiding?

Should be pretty quick



Yea, I dont think it would be a bad idea. That way if a customer wants a breakdown, the program is already printer friendly not exposing costs.

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:28 pm

Should be able to do that tomorrow.

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 3:34 am

looking at this some more, i don't think i would allow a customer to see the print at all - it shows labour rates, markup % etc as well - these are pretty much private.

I can change the report but need to know what we are willing to show a customer.

Dave

KIDTech
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:21 pm

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby KIDTech » Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:45 am

A lot of factories I work with require a breakdown fyi.
DIY 5x10 v rail, rack and pinion
Gecko g540
Pm65 - aka game changer
Longevity ForceCut 42i is sitting on the shelf
Proma THC
ACAD, SheetCam, Mach3
Millermatic 211
NEW HORSE IN THE STABLE:
4'x8' LDR downdraft w/a scribe
Milltronics Partner 2 CNC mill

User avatar
tnbndr
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:30 pm
Location: New Berlin, WI
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby tnbndr » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:06 am

You can have a breakdown, labor, material, misc parts, etc without showing your costs and markups.
Dennis
LDR 4x8, Scribe, DTHCIV
PM45
DeVilbiss Air America 6.5HP, 80Gal., 175psi, Two Stage
[email protected], [email protected]
Miller 211
RW 390E Slip Roll
AutoCAD, SheetCAM, Mach 3
https://www.facebook.com/ikescreations?ref=hl
http://ikescreations.com

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:22 am

KIDTech wrote:A lot of factories I work with require a breakdown fyi.


Yes, this was for a customer though.

I can easily revamp it for customer to show breakdown, just working out what to hide etc :)

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:05 am

Ok,

new version on the download site as before, when going to print you are now asked if you want to print a customer version, it defaults to no for normal output.

:) :)

arcspark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby arcspark » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:47 pm

davek0974 wrote:Ok,

new version on the download site as before, when going to print you are now asked if you want to print a customer version, it defaults to no for normal output.

:) :)


New update is spot on! Thank you for that, much easier to print a customer quote now. Thanks again.

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:52 pm

No worries, thanks for the feedback

Gary Anderson
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:46 am

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby Gary Anderson » Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:31 am

Would love to give your app a try. I tried the download but nothing will work

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:05 am

Thats odd, i just tested and its working ok, did you get the FULL download PLUS the updated download - you must get both and then install the full download first, then unzip the updater and copy that over the installation. Then it will run.

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:48 pm

Would it be possible to add a free text field which saves with the part file? An area in which you can put notes for the pricing? "1.5 hours drawing @ 60, 2 hours table time at 100, 50 for LEDs", etc? Curious if this could be done without being a big headache. Otherwise, a .txt file can be created and stuck in the same folder with the part file.
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam

davek0974
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby davek0974 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:58 pm

Should be easy, i'll have a look when i get back to work - i'm off for a week to extend my workshop a bit :)

motoguy
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: Central MO, USA

Re: Plasma Pricing app...

Postby motoguy » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:23 pm

Thanks!
Bulltear 6x12 w/ Proton Z axis & watertable
CommandCNC/Linux w/ Ohmic & HyT options
Hypertherm Powermax 85 w/ machine torch
Solidworks, Coreldraw X7, Inkscape, Sheetcam


Return to “Pricing, Advertising, & Marketing Your Products Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests