It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 1:19 am

 

Question about Proma THC

This forum is for plasma cutting related tools and accessories. Discuss products and tools that have worked or not worked for you.
Probird
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:03 am

Question about Proma THC

Postby Probird » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:44 pm

Hooked up to machine control by manufacturer of table,I hooked to my 45xp to give it a try, and started a cut on a basic 19 inch circle. When the torch fired and started to move the torch started going up and never stopped, aborted the cut when torch stopped firing, but still moving up and around the cut.

What should I check in Mach and sheetcam to start the search for why?

Thanks for any suggestions.
4x8 Premier Plasma Table
Hypertherm 45xp
Inkscape
Viacad
Sheetcam
Mach3
Proma 150 THC

djreiswig
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby djreiswig » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:28 pm

What was the torch voltage doing? You may have the THC up and THC down ports/ pins reversed so it is traveling the opposite direction from what it expects.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Probird
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby Probird » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:43 pm

I will hook back up tomorrow and do a test cut again. So, I should start the cycle and watch the thc voltage?
Where are these ports/pins? In the mach3 software?

Thanks again
4x8 Premier Plasma Table
Hypertherm 45xp
Inkscape
Viacad
Sheetcam
Mach3
Proma 150 THC

djreiswig
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby djreiswig » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:59 pm

Yes, the ports/pins settings are in Mach3.
If the voltage is going higher than the setpoint, the THC should be moving down. If it is moving up instead then the voltage will continue to climb as the torch moves further from the material causing the THC to try and move down more, but if the direction is reversed it will actually move up more worsening the problem.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2983
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby acourtjester » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:29 am

Look in the ports and pins menu under input signals swap the up and down pins number there.
If you run the test function on the Proma and look in the diagnostic page in Mach 3 there are lights to show up and down signal inputs. These should match the up down light on the Proma. I hope you have the Proma 150 not the SD :(
pins.jpg

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

Probird
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby Probird » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:45 pm

So I hooked back up finally, set voltage to book settings for the 45xp which is 124 iirc, started a line cut about 6 inches long and it pierced and started cutting and went up as it was moving.
Contacted the table manu. And was told to put it at 98ish volts, it works now, I guess.

Any ideas why it would want 98ish and not 120ish on the voltage?
It’s a Proma 150 controller and shielded consumables on 16 gauge steel using mach3.

I stopped a cut and it was at .058 to .060 height.
4x8 Premier Plasma Table
Hypertherm 45xp
Inkscape
Viacad
Sheetcam
Mach3
Proma 150 THC

Old Iron
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby Old Iron » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:01 pm

What is your speed and amps set at?
Is the air pressure set to auto?
My Proma 150 is pretty close to book.
I have the Proma mounted right on the side of my PM600

Probird
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Question about Proma THC

Postby Probird » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:05 pm

200 ipm
45 amps
100 psi running
cutting 16 Gauge today, putting a spray pattern on top from the torch, dunno...
4x8 Premier Plasma Table
Hypertherm 45xp
Inkscape
Viacad
Sheetcam
Mach3
Proma 150 THC


Return to “Plasma Cutting Accessories & Related Tools Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's