Various finecut consumables

Information on plasma cutting nozzles, electrodes, and other consumables.
plasmartist
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Various finecut consumables

Post by plasmartist »

I am still relatively new to CNC plasma, I have a hypertherm powermax 85a with duramax full length machine torch on a home built table with candcnc bladerunner electronics. The majority of what I cut has been 10 ga ms using finecut consumables using the part numbers as per the manual i.e. 220948 shield, 220953 cap, 220930 nozzle, 220842 electrode, and 220857 swirl ring. When shopping for consumables I have seen various consumables that I am curious about using, but not sure if they fit my application. I noticed a finecut swirl ring 220947 that the manual doesn't reference. Also noticed a copper plus electrode that my manual doesn't reference, it says it can be used for all processes, can it be used for finecut or mechanized in general? I haven't been having problems as of yet, but do any of these alternates not mentioned in the manual improve anything? Lastly, I noticed that the consumable kits tend to include spare orings and lubricant, how often should orings be replaced and how often should they be lubricated. I have been cutting off and on for 6 months with no problems, but haven't lubricated anything or changed orings. Thanks in advance.
Old Iron
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

Re: Various finecut consumables

Post by Old Iron »

There is a thread addressing the issue of a new o-ring and lubricating it to stop a Hypertherm torch from making beveled cuts on here.
I for one had never changed or lubricated the o-ring and after doing so my beveled edge issue disappeared.
plasmartist
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by plasmartist »