Help Converting a DXF File to SVG

Inkscape related questions, tips and topics can be posted here
travm415
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Help Converting a DXF File to SVG

Post by travm415 »

I'm very new to Plasma Spider. I have been researching and attempting to convert a file from a DXF to SVG. I have Solid Edge which I'm not very proficient with. I mainly use Inkscape then import into sheetcam then import into Mach3. When I download a DXF file into Inkscape it doesn't let me add anything to the original file. Now I can change the size and import into Sheetcam. I'm wanting to be able to convert into a SVG file so I can put my own personal touches on. Can someone please put me into the right direction. I appreciate any help that I can get. You can give a man a fish and feed him for a day but if you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime.
plasmanewbie
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Help Converting a DXF File to SVG

Post by plasmanewbie »

I use CorelDraw and I can simply open a dxf and export it back out as an svg file. Not sure if Solid Edge gives you that option in the File drop down menu with an Export command. Corel has free trial if your interested in giving it a go.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »

Ok here is something you may not understand you can draw new things but until they are a path they will not be added to you original when you save it. An easy way to see if something is a path is have the node tool in the upper left highlighted. Then as you move the curser (mouse pointer) around the page the object will change to a red object briefly (the outline of a square or circle or part ect)
Now to change things to a path select them and go to the path drop down menu and click on either "object to path" or "stroke to path".