It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:56 pm

 

Inkscape problem

Inkscape related questions and tips can be posted to this topic.
hogheaven
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:31 pm
Contact:

Inkscape problem

Postby hogheaven » Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:59 am

The problem is clearly me, not inkscape. I seem to have the same error message coming up on sheetcam for three designs i have just made. I design on laptop at home in inkscape, double check on sheetcam, then load onto flashdrive and take to work to cut. I thought all three designs looked okay on sheetcam at home, but clearly there is a problem.

Please can somebody look at the three files and advise what the problem is so i can fix it. thanks. I have attached the three files, and a screenshot of the error message in sheetcam at work.

Many thanks
Attachments
image1.JPG
DUNKIRKSBURY FARM SIGN.svg
(133.26 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
STAFFY LEAD HOLDER NEW V1.svg
(31.18 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
HOG SMOKERS GRILLS VECTOR V1.svg
(28.14 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

User avatar
Capstone
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Washington D.C. Metro
Contact:

Re: Inkscape problem

Postby Capstone » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:44 am

When I load this into SheetCAM as is, I only get one error; some overlapping lines were called out and SheetCAM automatically eliminated "duplicates". There we no layering errors on my end, and I didn't do anything different when opening the files in Inkscape or SheetCAM.

I would eliminate all of the nodes in between your corners to clean up the Farm sign... If it's a box, then the lines should be straight and there should only be 4 nodes at the corners.

I'm assuming this will be multi-layered piece with the letter drops will be added back in. Otherwise, it looked fine on my end.
Phil
It's all relative...
CNC Metal Design
Instagram CNC Metal Design
Cheap Royalty-Free Graphic Stock Images
DIY 4x4", VeloxCNC "Z" & C&CNC, MACH3, SheetCAM
HT PM45, WeldPAK 180

User avatar
WyoGreen
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contact:

Re: Inkscape problem

Postby WyoGreen » Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:17 pm

I looked at all 3 drawings, and all three loaded ok, although there were duplicate vectors on all three, which sheetcam removed. When I look at your error message, it says the layer did not exist. I'm assuming you were setting up a cutting operation, and wonder if you picked the layer (Color 0). I get that error when I forget to change the default layer name in the Jet Cutting operations window.

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
CNC Router table

hogheaven
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Inkscape problem

Postby hogheaven » Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:20 pm

Yup, sorry, dumb dumb here forgot to set layer, was so outraged it wasnt setting up properly, i lost all use of logical thinking. Back on track now. Thank you

User avatar
WyoGreen
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contact:

Re: Inkscape problem

Postby WyoGreen » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:58 am

Well, I do that myself every so often, just to get my brain farts out of the way early, so the rest of the day can go smoothly. :roll:

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
CNC Router table


Return to “Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests