CNC Torch wiring question-Lotos LTP 6000

Don't see your table manufacturer listed above? Post here in this forum.
Helicoptermike
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

CNC Torch wiring question-Lotos LTP 6000

Post by Helicoptermike »

Hello everyone,
I am new to both CNC Plasma and this forum and I have a question. Please keep in mind that I would describe myself as electrically challenged! I am just about to finish up assembly of my first table and was wondering, before I really screw something up, the correct wiring of the CNC Torch that I have. I bought it from Lotos for the Lotos LTP 6000 Plasma cutter. There is a 2-pin connector on each end (torch and case). Unless I am mistaken all I need to do is splice the 2 wires from the controller into the start/stop switch wires on the torch between the terminal plug and the switch. Then to use the torch I just plug the torch into the machine and the splice would allow the CNC controller to turn the torch on and off. Correct?

Thanks!
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: CNC Torch wiring question

Post by jimcolt »

Hopefully your Lotos plasma has a manual that has a wiring diagram or schematic? On most of the low cost imports (Like lotos) you simply connect the plasma start output relay on your cnc machine (it would help us if you said which type of machine controller....there are 100 or more different brands of cnc plasma controllers in the world...alll a little different!)...to the torch trigger switch wires (the two wires that go to the pushbutton switch on the torch).

Be careful if the Lotos is a high frequency start plasma.....special grounding procedures and a driven ground rod usually are necessary with these plasma's to prevent damage to the cnc contol box and computer.

Jim

Helicoptermike wrote:Hello everyone,