Langmuir CNC Table

Don't see your table manufacturer listed above? Post here in this forum.
NortheastRacing
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Langmuir CNC Table

Post by NortheastRacing »

Hello All,

I have recently ordered the new Langmuir table and am going through the software over the last couple of days. To be honest I'm a bit overwhelmed, I don't come from an overly tech savvy background but can get through Autodesk as far as design goes. I'm much better with a Tig torch in my hands. Any advise for a new plasma table owner would be much appreciated.

Thanks all,

Nick
gamble
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Langmuir CNC Table

Post by gamble »

Are you confused with fusion360 or mach3?

You can use inkscape or qcad for design. Those are the only other free ones I know of. But you will need something like sheetcam for cad.

I have the same table on the way. Total noob to mach3 but I have been playing with fusion. It’s a bit of a learning curve. I use other software for cad/cam myself
Torchmate 2x2 - Flashcut
Powermax 45 - Machine torch
Taig CNC Mill - Flashcut
Razorweld Distributor
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »

There is a flow of work that has about 3 steps, it may be better to start with a more simpler software then Autodesk.
To start you need to draw an object, this can be done with the above software, then you need a CAM program to convert the drawing to G-code.
Then this G-code it loaded into Mach 3 to direct the table to complete the operation. You could download a simple DXF file to skip the first step.
SheetCam is a widely used CAM software that you can download for free for testing using a small DXF file (SVG can be used too) to help you learn, Mach 3 can also be downloaded for free for testing with short G-code files. Start small and grow larger as you learn.