It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:09 pm

 

Motor Tuning Question?

Have a question and don't see your manufacturer? Post here and if we get enough action on that manufacturer we will add a forum
ajk2004
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:22 pm
Contact:

Motor Tuning Question?

Postby ajk2004 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:14 am

Guys,
I have a C & CNC bladerunner and I had a question on motor tuning. I am trying to get it tuned and thought I about had it. What you want is that when you move the gantry 1" the DRO shows 1" of movement. I am trying to do this but am frustrated by the results. I tested this by moving the gantry 1" according to the DRO and then would measure on the table to see how much movement I was getting. I thought I had it. I noticed on a project I did I had the size at roughly 36" squared but when the cutter finished the piece was like 42" squared. I then proceeded to cut out 3" diameter circles to test the machine. I had to do some tuning to get the machine to cut 3" circles but then when I cut another large project, it cut a little larger then the program file. Is this what they call losing steps? I just want to be able to cut whatever the program file is sized to. If something is 5x5 I would like it to be within a 1/16" of an inch or so, give or take a little with inside/outside offset. Thanks guys.
Andy

User avatar
steel 35
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:12 am
Location: N of Cali.
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby steel 35 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:55 am

Somewhere in the directions it says to make the lines as long as possible and do the adjustments with the long lines making smaller adjustments making it more accurate?

Gear reduction or not?
Gantry Homemade, PPL, ECT?
With more info someone here may be able to give you the # S
PPL HDG 4X8
Hyp 65 duramax's
C&CNC 620-5 Ethernet
Inkscape, Solid Edge, Sheetcam, Autocad 2K
Corel X7 Student NO DXF!

ajk2004
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby ajk2004 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:17 pm

I guess I forgot to mention that. I do have gear reduction. I have components from cncrouterparts.com I believe it is the NEMA 34 setup. Once upon a time, I knew the reduction, 3:1 maybe? My gantry is homemade. Thanks for the help.

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby acourtjester » Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:10 pm

Here is the setup I use for the CandCNC setup, and as steel35 said at the end move about 80% of you axis travel to check for each axis.
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=20950&p=123635&hilit=axis+calibration#p123635
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

ajk2004
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby ajk2004 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:04 pm

Acourt & Steel,
Thank you for your help. I plan on following your post about how to set up my motors. I didn't understand what steel was talking about when he said make your lines as long as possible. After reading Acourt's post I see what he is talking about. one quick question. If I move my gantry's x axis one inch or 54", what is the difference. Again, I would consider myself a newbie, but if it goes an inch worth of travel, should a long line be just as accurate? Thanks guys. Can't wait to get home to try this.

Bigrhamr
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby Bigrhamr » Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:16 pm

If the travel is off by a tiny amount per motor revolution then the error will be more apparent when you make a long move rather than a short one.

tcaudle
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Motor Tuning Question?

Postby tcaudle » Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:35 pm

Calibration error is cumulative. If you are off .01 in 1" you will be off .360 in 36 . There is a calculator on the Websire in the Support section. Just type in the numbers and it gives you the new Steps per unit setting.


Return to “Various Manufacturers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests