It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:25 pm

 

router on Tracker 4x8

Tracker Hardware discussion forum
menniej
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 9:40 pm
Location: Granville,IL

router on Tracker 4x8

Postby menniej » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:18 pm

Hi Everyone ,

Has Anyone ever mounted a router on a tracker table ? Was goin to try this and was looking for all the help I can get :?:


Thanks For your time

WSS
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:19 am

Re: router on Tracker 4x8

Postby WSS » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:41 pm

First thing to find out is if the Z can coordinate with the X&Y axes. Often Plasma cnc machines do not.

WSS

User avatar
pony
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:47 pm
Location: DFW area,TX, USA

Re: router on Tracker 4x8

Postby pony » Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:41 pm

My TorchMate has the option, although I've yet to use it. The kit I bought from TorchMate came with the Z axis motor and BobCAD software (http://www.bobcad.com/ ).
I'm not at all impressed with BobCAD, they are far to pushy. No sooner had I installed the software than they were calling incessantly about upgrades and plugins. It got that bad that I had to block their number in my PBX....

menniej
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 9:40 pm
Location: Granville,IL

Re: router on Tracker 4x8

Postby menniej » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:26 am

The Z does have a motor and it does come down and touch off the steel and then stands off to what I type in. say come back up 1/8 or 1/4 . when the machine is cutting i can also control the up and down on Z with the keyboard ?? Could there be other software out there that can control my machine ?

User avatar
Team Tracker
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:36 pm
Contact:

Re: router on Tracker 4x8

Postby Team Tracker » Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:19 pm

Hi menniej

Yes you can easily install a router on your Trackers lifter assembly and accomplish 2d cutting of foams, woods, and plastics without any software change or upgrade. WSS is correct in that if you intend to do 3d machining type operations the standard 2d plasma software will not work. Currently your z axis can only be moved manually using keyboard commands or can be controlled with Trackers auto height control system during plasma cutting operations. I would not recommend trying to operate your machine with any different software without contacting us first. Please let me know if you have any questions and I will be happy to help.

Regards
Reid T
Tracker CNC
800-590-7804
Image
1-800-590-7804


Return to “Tracker CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest