It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:06 pm

 

Torchmate signal generator

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:38 pm

I've been cutting for about 2 years now. In that time I have had to replace 4 of the drive boards and the mother board in my signal generator. I realize that they are now making their own signal generators because of the quality of the one I have, but has anyone ever had this much trouble? It's a simple fix, but waiting for the parts creates a lot of down time, plus the expense of the boards. Any ideas??

islander261
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:30 pm

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby islander261 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:58 pm

Hi

I have a 2008 Torchmate (Fastcut) that hasn't given me any trouble. I have replaced the Torchmate driver box with a home made one so I could get full drive current and higher voltage to the motors. I used a Gecko G540 and power supply off of Ebay. The signal generator box hasn't missed a beat, knock on wood. My electronics do live in a nominally dust proof box.

John

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:20 pm

Thanks for the info, I'll look into that.

User avatar
Gamelord
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Gamelord » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:13 pm

Never had a problem on mine and been running it for over 5 years. Check and make sure all your grounds are properly grounded in your plugs and breaker panels, check for phantom electrical feedback. I would also check for some type of high frequency input from somewhere that may be taking them out.
Once you take flight, your eyes will forever be turned to the sky." "Lack of appreciation is the worlds biggest crime."

Torchmate 6x14 w/THC Downdraft
Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 101
Corel Draw / Adobe Illustrator
Torchmate CAD

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:23 am

Great ideas. I am, again, on the road for craft shows but will check it all when I finally get home. They all make sense, there has to be something strange going on.

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:05 am

Back up and running. Checked it all, can't find a thing wrong. We will be at Torchmate for software training the first of December. Maybe I can get some more help then. Thank you all for your responses and help.

gamble
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 915
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:33 pm

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby gamble » Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:47 pm

No issues here. How much are they banging you on the cards?
You are better off buying them from flashcut cnc as they made the box for torchmate. I have had 0 issues over 3 years. Maybe you should send your box to flashcut and have them test it out?
Torchmate 2x2
Powermax 45 - machine torch
Flashcut CNC Controls & Height control

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:19 pm

The mother board was over $600 and the signal boards are over $200. Before the company who made the mother board would send out a new one, they required a picture of my old board, with serial number visible, broken in half. That one surprised me!!! Is Flashcut the one who is making the signal generator now or previously? Torchmate has upgraded about 3 years ago. New signal generator runs about 6 grand! That's not going to happen.

crbattery
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:07 pm

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby crbattery » Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:51 am

Maadman wrote:The mother board was over $600 and the signal boards are over $200. Before the company who made the mother board would send out a new one, they required a picture of my old board, with serial number visible, broken in half. That one surprised me!!! Is Flashcut the one who is making the signal generator now or previously? Torchmate has upgraded about 3 years ago. New signal generator runs about 6 grand! That's not going to happen.



I just talked to flashcut this afternoon about retrofitting a kioke plasma table we bought yesterday with all new stuff. 9k is a bunch of money but comes with what seems like really great stuff. My explanation isnt the best but what im trying to say is before you give lincoln 6k for just a signal generator give Flashcut a call


Also we run a 12 year old Torchmate table with red face height control.

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:59 am

I just want to clarify that the 6k to Lincoln wasn't just for the signal generator, it also included all the product to adapt the machine to the new generator. The new generator is not backwards compatible without all the new parts to adapt it. The new setup is really nice. But I don't like being forced into making all those changes to replace 1 part. Wish they had a simpler, and less expensive, plan.
I have since finished the new building the machine was to go into. We have moved the machine and all seems well. It hasn't been that long since the move so only time will tell!
I want to thank you for the info on Flashcut!! If I have to go looking again I will include them in my search.

Fastyankee
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 11:30 am

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Fastyankee » Sat May 20, 2017 1:12 pm

Don't go with Acumove it is very unreliable and Finicky as all get out. Since I switched my table has been down more than up.

AJ

Maadman
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Watkins, Iowa

Re: Torchmate signal generator

Postby Maadman » Sun May 21, 2017 6:43 pm

You are about 3 weeks late, but thanks anyway! Lightening strike took out my "black box". Had to move to the Accumove upgrade. Instructions for setup sucked and instructions for the new software don't exist. VERY disappointed! Had a great deal of frustration trying to get it to work. On top of that literally half the support team were taking classes the week I got it. They don't have enough people there to start out with! Wait time was always at least 40 minutes.
They were very helpful once I got them on the line. But, when we got to a problem with the Z axis loosing position, and they couldn't figure out why, it became a grounding issue. Then they were done with me. I have an earth ground that is on the grounding bolt of the machine, it then goes to my sheet of metal, there are no grounding issues. I finally have it working fairly well, just a VERY frustrating start.


Return to “Torchmate”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest