It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:51 am

 

Motor Issues

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
chevybythesea
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:06 am
Location: St. George, Utah

Motor Issues

Postby chevybythesea » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:52 am

I have one motor that is not starting as fast as the others. Forgive me if I use the wrong descriptors, but on my table, there are two motors that move the gantry on the rail (both going the same direction), and one for moving the head back and forth. The issue is with one of the two motors - one starts, moves about 1/4 inch, then the other kicks in. Belts are the same tightness, gears are new, motors are new, everything is new.

The cuts I get like this are not acceptable - the picture shows it (this piece is supposed to be a triangle with 3 mounting tabs). The yellow circles show the problem areas.

Any ideas?

20160721_071934.jpg

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

5x10 TorchMate table (~10 years old, but new to me!)
http://www.thesteelyardinc.net

User avatar
Capstone
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1006
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Washington D.C. Metro
Contact:

Re: Motor Issues

Postby Capstone » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:03 am

Have you double checked that the motor tuning within MACH3 is identical for all of the motors? They are independently set up under motor tuning and you have to ensure that you SAVE the changes, not just hit okay. The X, Y (A slave to Y) all need to be identical. Just my first thoughts. I'm using a rack-pinion setup so back lash isn't a problem, but with belts it may be. I just don't know how you would fix that.
Phil
It's all relative...
CNC Metal Design
Instagram CNC Metal Design
Cheap Royalty-Free Graphic Stock Images
DIY 4x4", VeloxCNC "Z" & C&CNC, MACH3, SheetCAM
HT PM45, WeldPAK 180

chevybythesea
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:06 am
Location: St. George, Utah

Re: Motor Issues

Postby chevybythesea » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:26 pm

I'm not using MACH3 - I am using the TorchMate VMD software.

That being said, after going through everything, I figured it out - nearly bald from pulling all my hair out first, though. Loose set screw. Dang!
5x10 TorchMate table (~10 years old, but new to me!)
http://www.thesteelyardinc.net


Return to “Torchmate”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests