It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:35 pm

 

Connecting Longevity 42i

PlasmaCam Hardware discussion forum
mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:56 pm

Hello all,

I am in the process of possibly purchasing a used Plasmacam 4x4 table. I have a Longevity ForceCut 42i plasma cutter that I am wanting to hook up to it to try it out to see how the table works. the issue is, they are unable to find the manual for the table, and I am not sure which wires would go to which pins on the CNC plug on the 42i.

I got the computer to communicate with the table, I got my torch mounted to the holder, I made up a thing to contact the nozzle on the torch for the DHC(it is a DHC 2 table). The wire was just hanging there, and from looking online, it looked like there was a metal piece that the wire connected to, that clamps to the torch nozzle, but without the manual, I am not positive of that either.

The software is version 3.04 if that makes a difference.

The video manual does not show the Longevity machine, as I think the table and software are from before Longevity were in business.

THANK YOU!

P.S. there is a Thermal Dynamics CutMaster 152 included in the deal, but the nozzle is missing off the torch, so I figured I would use my 42i that I have to check the table out. OR, should I buy stuff to get the Thermal Dynamics one running? Not sure I have enough power in my shop to run this monster.

Brand X
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby Brand X » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:31 am

If you don't turn the power up on the 152 it would be similar to running your 40 amp machine. Fix the thermal. You can get a lot of work done using 50/55 amp, and 60 amp tips.. They also make 70 amp tips that do a great job. Not too bad on power input cutting .500 or so. With shielded machine consumables. excellent cuts.. Much better machine for cnc cutting over the 42. You would be at a comfortable duty-cycle on most average things you would be cutting with the lower amp consumables. like 100% duty-cycle on all of it.

mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:34 am

I have not looked, but is there a place to get consumables for the thermal at a reasonable price?

Also, am I correct in that the DHC wire connects to a metal piece that is clamped to the torch, that contacts the tip? I hate to sound like an idiot, but I am kind of flying blind, dealing with a guy who is an employee of where the table is from, and the one that knew about it is no longer there.

Thanks so much, Mark!

Brand X
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby Brand X » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:15 am

Ebay is best. Consumable costs can be about 4 time cheaper then any other place for original equipment. I have sold my Thermal but kept my Machine torch, and voltage card, because I wanted to get down to one machine. (Hypertherm 45XP) It was not that I could not get excellent cuts with them.. Latest 82 cut parameters are pretty good in it's manual. Use those instead of the 152 ones..(Up to 80 amps)

Lot of times overseas buying is the very best deal.. I bought a lot from the second guy.. Out of the package is fine.. (deal) Stay away from most china stuff, but there are exceptions to every rule.. Third link will deal for original 50/55 tips. 40 amp ones show up cheaper but just to get you going..Buy a 9-8237 shield cup, and the correct machine shield for the amps being cut..

Not all are deals, but most of the parts to get you going.. You can use the un-shielded 9-8215 cup for lower amp nozzles 20-30-40.. The 20-30 amp nozzles are drag, but it's all there is. Just run them close to the plate. 9-8208 40 amps are for standoff cutting, and the 40 amp 9-8207 are drag setup. stick with the 9-8208 tips..

There are automation electrodes that are more money..Might look for a deal there too..Same with the start cartridge.

Watch ebay and stuff will show up really cheap sometimes.. The last one is for your ohmic sense wire.

This pretty much gives you all options other then the (90/100 amps tips) 120 amp Machine shield, and 120 tips.. Probably wont run those last ones at 128 amps 240 volt single phase draw .. :lol: Keep the power down on a Thermal, and you will find it makes great cuts.. Meaning don't use 80 amp tips on 3/8 ms etc.. 50-55-60 will do way better. If in doubt,and getting bevel issues run lower amp tips. It will really help you.. 40 amp ones really do nice up to 3/16 ms , and you can push .250 if you need too..


http://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-Therma ... Sw42dZDkX2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GENUINE-Thermal ... Sw2x1XK5b5

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-2-Pack-Genu ... ypweCrhVMw

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cutmaster-Therm ... SwRJ1ZoHt2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GENUINE-9-8237- ... Sw95FZaTim

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VICTOR-THERMAL- ... Sw2zFZzmyy

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Thermal-Dyn ... SwzqFZAQxT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VICTOR-THERMAL- ... SwdoVZe84e

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Thermal-Dyn ... SwzVxZb1YH

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Thermal-Dynamic ... SwwERZzVIu

http://www.ebay.com/itm/9-8218-Thermal- ... Sw-z9ZwHl4

http://www.ebay.com/itm/THERMAL-DYNAMIC ... Ba10gKyhNA

http://www.ebay.com/itm/THERMAL-DYNAMIC ... XQDK1Rsf7L

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Thermal-Dynamic ... Sw3ydVnmzO

mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:55 am

WOW, I do not have time to look at them all right now, but thank you so much! This is awesome! Ireally do appreciate your time in posting all these links.

Brand X
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby Brand X » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:58 pm

Main thing you have part # to go by, and factory consumables. Thermals are hard enough to get quality cuts out of, but sticking with factory parts is the first step..It's 14 year old torch design,and will have a narrower working range then some later designs. (works well) Least you are not stuck with the limited options on the Longevity machine.. Not that you could not get it to work somewhat in thinner stuff..

mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:41 pm

Well, I just ordered the stuff to get the torch fixed up for the Thermal. So once it gets here, I will try and get this thing up and running, some of it is coming from overseas, so it will be a bit.
As long as I do not crank the machine up, I can wire it up and plug it into my 50 amp plug for now, correct?

Thanks again!!

Brand X
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby Brand X » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:50 am

One thing about most good 50 amp circuits. You can pull more then you think out of them. Anyway using 60 amp consumables on up to .500 you will not have any issues at all.. Order some 70 amp nozzles if you need to cut somewhat thicker, and it will keep your amp draw down a bit too.. Cut quality is generally better then the 80 amp stuff anyway.. (Bevel wise)

mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:29 am

I ordered the 60 amp consumables. At least this should get me up and running, hopefully. I want to make sure the table is all good before I do the license transfer.

Thanks again!

KIDTech
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:21 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby KIDTech » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:26 pm

Man I still have a 42i, not turned it on for years, not real sure where it's even at. I fought that thing so much when I first started.
DIY 5x10 v rail, rack and pinion
Gecko g540
Pm65 - aka game changer
Longevity ForceCut 42i is sitting on the shelf
Proma THC
ACAD, SheetCam, Mach3
Millermatic 211
NEW HORSE IN THE STABLE:
4'x8' LDR downdraft w/a scribe
Milltronics Partner 2 CNC mill

mtbitt
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:15 pm

Re: Connecting Longevity 42i

Postby mtbitt » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:13 pm

Well, after over a 2 month delay, I am about to hook up the Thermal Dynamics up to the table. there are 2 wires hanging out of the cover. A Male and a Female spade. Not at the shop, but I think one is white, and the other is a black wire. Any idea what these are for? I pulled the cover off and they are coming from the harness for the Plasma table.

Thank you !!!


Return to “PlasmaCam”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's