It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:39 pm

 

Help Editing Post Processor

Post your questions or tips on SheetCam software in this topic.
kwikway
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:19 pm

Help Editing Post Processor

Postby kwikway » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:07 pm

Hello All,

I recently mounted a 4mm Proximity sensor to my Plasma CNC table. It works great and consistent however I need to edit my post processor. I need to somehow add an offset for X, Y for the sensor [or as its called in the post processor, switch.] The Post Processor already has a Z offset. Can someone interpret and help edit the post processor file to fit my needs?

I have included in the attachments a picture of my sensor.
https://www.amazon.com/LJ12A3-4-Z-DC6-3 ... B00NWFBOYG

Here is a link to my Post Processor file [provided by Premier Plasma]: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_qdl7 ... sp=sharing

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


kwikway
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:19 pm

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby kwikway » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:56 pm

EDIT:

I had a second idea. If I get it on probe to move by X amount, probe, then move back, it would do what I need too. I just need it to probe the spot it will cut at with the sensor.

Les Newell
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:30 am

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby Les Newell » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:34 am

Give this a try. You will need to edit the post. Near the start of the file is this line:
sensorX = 50
That is your sensor offset. Note the value is in millimetres.

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


kwikway
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:19 pm

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby kwikway » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:03 am

Les Newell wrote:Give this a try. You will need to edit the post. Near the start of the file is this line:
sensorX = 50
That is your sensor offset. Note the value is in millimetres.


Thanks Les. I will try it out today and let you know.

kwikway
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:19 pm

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby kwikway » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:41 pm

Hello Les,

The Post Processor worked perfectly. If you'd like to see it in action I posted a video here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_qdl7 ... sp=sharing

I wanted to ask if you could add one more thing. Could we make it probe the spot twice? Becuase the probe can sometimes half-trigger. Is it possible to make it probe the spot twice to double check the value? To make sure Probe attempt 1 and 2 are within a certain margin of error but not too far.

What do you think?

Thanks a lot Les.

Les Newell
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:30 am

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby Les Newell » Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:55 am

That would be difficult. Mach g-code cannot make decisions based on values. Theoretically it could be done in a macro in Mach3 but I haven't done much with Mach macros.

kwikway
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:19 pm

Re: Help Editing Post Processor

Postby kwikway » Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:01 pm

Les Newell wrote:That would be difficult. Mach g-code cannot make decisions based on values. Theoretically it could be done in a macro in Mach3 but I haven't done much with Mach macros.


Hello Les,

I think I'll leave it how it is now. The difference is probably so small that for a plasma CNC machine its unnoticeable. I was trying to apply 3D printer knowledge to a Plasma machine but 3D printing is far more sensitive to those kind of height differences.

Thanks for all the help!


Return to “SheetCam”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest