It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:25 am

 

Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Post your questions or tips on SheetCam software in this topic.
szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:32 am

Hey guys!

So I was drawing up a target for our shop pellet guns the other day and noticed something not right when I imported to Sheetcam. I have the the rings of the target setup as open lines so they would not drop out. (basically a circle broken for each ring bulls eye on out) I went to setup plasma cut in operations on the "target layers" No offset 1/4" 45amp settings. Continued to run through all of my layers and for $hits n' Grins ran the simulation to see how everything was going to cut. This is where I noticed the weirdest thing and maybe an error? Each ring the simulation shows rapid movement to the start of the cut, then cuts portion of the curve. Fine and dandy right? It then rapids back to the return of the cut it just made and rapids back to the beginning of the next cut and continues on the whole entire cutting of the rings. In my head this should cut the curve stop fire move over the gap and continue to cut the remainder of the ring. If you are still following with me is there a fix or is something not right in my drawing?
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby acourtjester » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:04 pm

You must have duplicate rings one on top of the others, you can check this by using the contour tool in SheetCam. click on the contour tool and move the cursor over one ring it should change color right click on it this brings up a menu click on move to layer, select a new layer and give it a name (yyy).
now in the upper left you should see a new layer (yyy). un-check the new lay and it will remove that layer from the display. If there is still a layer there it is a duplicate layer. repeat if you have more layers under the first on.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:28 pm

It's not re-cutting the same portion of the ring. It just rapids back to the start of the cut just made and then rapids on to the next and so on. (Ex) A and B are first half of circle C and D are second half cause of gap. Starts at A cuts to B then rapids back to A then Rapids to C and cuts to D. Instead of A to B then C to D
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:31 pm

I don't think there is another layer as I am not at my shop I'm at work ughhhhh. In BobCad I drew circles of different sizes then made a rectangle box to go through the center of all and then quick trimmed them so I would have silhouettes of the rings. I put this whole cut-path on one layer.
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

djreiswig
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby djreiswig » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:43 pm

Look at the segment ends in SheetCam and see if there is more than one little white dot on the end of your arc. It may not be a duplicate arc since it doesn't try and cut it. It might just be a single dot.
If you open your drawing in CAD and delete your arc, and then try to select a box around the problem area there is probably something there. I've run into the same thing quite a few times.

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:40 pm

I'll take all the info stated above and hopefully this afternoon when I get over to the shop I can give you guys some good feeback! thanks for all the help guys!
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:12 pm

Pellet Target.dxf
(44.87 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Heres the file I am trying to cut I cannot for the life of me figure out WTH is going on that it wont cut the target portion I'm using BobCad V27 to edit any help would be great!
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby acourtjester » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:46 pm

I plugged it into SheetCam and did a no-offset plan on the center arcs and they look fine start one end go to end then rapid to the next arc??
Did you change the post processor lately?
looks.jpg
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:04 pm

There it looks like where o got too but mach doesn't cut the path it just pierces
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:11 pm

Sorry on my phone just looked at it closer I never got the rapids straight across....and I left my shop didn't think a reply was going to be that quick now it's beer thirty at my watering hole
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:53 am

acourtjester wrote:I plugged it into SheetCam and did a no-offset plan on the center arcs and they look fine start one end go to end then rapid to the next arc??
Did you change the post processor lately?
looks.jpg


Acourtjester
I recently just got a new computer from Bulltear and I havent given much thought of the post processor maybe something is off. I ran the same plan no offset and did not come up with the cut profile you have shown. If I click the cut open paths offset box I get something similar but, never did it go directly to the next cut always back to beginning then so on. I'll have to look at it again tonight. It's frustrating when its such a simple drawing and when I thought 30mins draw it up make some layers and boom target practice! Not so much 3 days later and still scratching my head :roll:
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby acourtjester » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:05 pm

In the back of my mind there seems to be a setting for keeping the rapids short, but I could not find it in SheetCam just now.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:27 pm

Did you try throwing that into mach and see how it post processes the G-code?
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:39 pm

Well cut it out and found my problem! I turned lead-in/lead-out off thinking I didn't need it to cut the open paths. Only one hiccup on the plate as I was using dirty metal that had a spot I missed cleaning off some epoxy but, she will work for some shop Pellet Plinking.
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:41 pm

szextreme wrote:Well cut it out and found my problem! I turned lead-in/lead-out off thinking I didn't need it to cut the open paths. Only one hiccup on the plate as I was using dirty metal that had a spot I
Pellet Target.jpg
Pellet Target.jpg (134.33 KiB) Viewed 178 times
missed cleaning off some epoxy but, she will work for some shop Pellet Plinking.
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!

szextreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting lines in sheetcam rapid problem

Postby szextreme » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:43 pm

Here she is painted up
Pellet TargetFin.jpg
Pellet TargetFin.jpg (81.86 KiB) Viewed 178 times
-Bulltear 5x12
-PM 85
-Miller Dynasty 400
-5000 Sq feet of toys......I mean Machinary!


Return to “SheetCam”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest