It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:47 pm

 

Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Mach 3 CNC from Artsoft questions or tips can be posted to this forum.
TrinityFabworks
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:36 pm

Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby TrinityFabworks » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:51 pm

Ok, I'm very inexperienced with cnc and just finished building my 4x4 table. I'm have sheetcam and mach 3 plasma. I'm now ready to test fire my table and I had a question. I built a floating head, but I need to know how to put that in the programming now. I have a proma 150 thc so I'm not sure if that will affect it or not. I've seen people talking about macros and some other things, but it is all a foreign language to me. I've got it running programs just fine, but I need it to touch off before every cut and I'd also like to have it find the X and Y zero to zero itself before it runs a job. If you could help me out I'd greatly appreciate it!

tcaudle
Posts: 1025
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby tcaudle » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:14 am

Pick the right POST in SheetCAM and the touch off sequence is there. You need to hard code in the POST the SwtichOffset number but its then automatic. Has no interface with the THC. There is no external on/off for the Promo so that i snot part of the POST or a macro.

tcaudle
Posts: 1025
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby tcaudle » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:15 am

The simplest is the old MP1000-THC post

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby acourtjester » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:24 am

First understand the THC has nothing to do with the floating head, floating head finds the metal surface to set the pierce height. The THC adjusts the cut height after the cutting is started.
Here is how to find the backlash of the floating head switch.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CDml_kosbY
This image shows how the floating head switch backlash shows up in the g-code, I tried to find a Post Processor but could not :(
To zero out the X and Y just click on the zero X and zero Y boxes next to the DROs

g-code lift.JPG

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby acourtjester » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:31 am

As tom said here is that post processor and where you change the floating head backlash value
Post Processor 2.JPG

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

djreiswig
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby djreiswig » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:55 pm

You should be able to assign the value to the variable at the top of the post rather than editing it in the actual post code.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

fnqplasma
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:47 am

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby fnqplasma » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:39 am

Your switch on the floating head needs to be set to the 'probe' function in mach3 inputs for this to work.

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby acourtjester » Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:35 am

You can use the floating head switch in either a limit/home setup using the g-code command of G28. Or as a separate function using the probe with a G31 command. I have done it both ways when using the G28 command I have strung all my home/limits in to one input pin, G28 is a homing command so it drives Z down to home. Mach sees the floating head switch as Z home when it trips and follows with the other commands to zero Z at metal surface and continues on. With the G31 Mach now looks for the probe input to complete the function of finding the metal surface. I have used a "Feather Touch" with the G28 as stated above. And a "Water Switch" as the probe input, both work great. The main difference is the "Feather Touch" with the home/limits is in a NC string and the "Water Switch" is in a NO separate input.
This has been done on a 5 input BOB, 1-home/limits, 2-probe, 3- arc OK. 4-up, 5-down for signals.
Old story "There is more then one way to skin a Cat" :D
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

TrinityFabworks
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:36 pm

Re: Floating Torch set up for sheetcam, mach3, and proma 150

Postby TrinityFabworks » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:19 pm

You guys are awesome! Thanks for the info, I will give it a try over the next few days!


Return to “Mach3 CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's