It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:41 pm

 

torch off without a pause

Mach 3 CNC from Artsoft questions or tips can be posted to this forum.
rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:04 am

Is there a macro, s code or custom code that can shut off the torch without having a pause in the movement?

Thank you
Richard

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:51 pm

I've been plagued by this too and as far as I know there is no way of getting around this.

I think running a macro or turning the THC on and off causes a momentary pause and nice little gouge in the workpeice.

Candcnc has developed a system to get around this issue but of course you have to buy that system. I've got the older system which doesn't have this feature.
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

mike 1948
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 11:23 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby mike 1948 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:37 pm

I use Sheetcam to write my Gcode and have not noticed a pause at the end of cut-torch off. Download a trial version and see what happens

Mike

rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Sat Nov 23, 2013 5:12 pm

I'm trying to shut the torch during movement. Jim Colt says the best way to end a hole, is to turn off the torch just after you cross your lead-in, then continue the overcut while the torch shuts off.

The problem with a lead out is since the hole falls off, if you dont want a divot, is to have the torch "lose arc" on lead out, but this leads to shorter consumable life. (My manual says 10% lost arc max.)

Sheetcam, with the new rules feature, now allows that, but when mach 3 hits the M05 line, there's a slight pause, wich causes a divot. (Jim, if I wrote something incorrect, feel free to correct me)

rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:04 am

Finally got it!!! For those of you interested, use the M10P1 command.
with the new rules feature and overburn in sheetcam, its seamless.

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:13 pm

Could you eleborate on that one.

I checked the Mach manual and the M codes go to M09 then the next one is M30

What exactly is the commands / meaning of M10P1
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:36 pm

M11P1 and M10P1 turn on/off the torch, its use by laser machines for fast on/off. heres the link someone posted me.

http://hobbycncart.com/publ/cikkek/mach ... l/8-1-0-29
and the answers to my question:
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index. ... 973.0.html

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:37 am

Wow that sounds like it could be very useful, any chance you might say how you implement this with sheetcam?
Thanks
Sean
Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:27 am

Mach3 recognized the command, i didn"t have to do a thing on that end.
I use sheetcam V5.1.17 with the rules and overburn features.
I use M10P1 to create a code snippet, then use it to turn off the torch when i create a rule.
Lets say ive got a .100 overburn with .100 lead-out, i stop the torch .200 before end, include lead-out.
Theres a video tutorial for the rules.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gsNhcWF2lE

Enjoy!!

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:07 pm

Many thanks for that explanation, I'm going to give that a try, that's one thing I haven't been able to nail on the thin stuff is that divot at the end, the overcut feature doesn't really help as it is but couple with what you have found out there it sounds just the ticket.
Many thanks
Sean
Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:29 pm

Thanks very much Richard, good one.

Never heard a murmor about that command before, I'll have to play with it. I wonder what other secrets are hidden in Mach.

Keith.
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:37 pm

Sorry I must be missing something here, can you spot anything from this.
It loads the code snippet fine but I don't see the torch turning off in the simulator.
Thanks
Sean

torchoff1.jpg

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

rikduk
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby rikduk » Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:58 pm

Just to make sure, just keep M10P1 in the code snippet editor.
Is your mach3 fairly recent? I checked in mine, in folder Mach3/macros/plasma , the m10 and m11 commands were there.
I didn't run a simulation :oops:
I ran it directly in mach:
-Plasma cutter off
-THC off
-put a LONG overburn, (for the test)
-load the file, press run.
-the torch"button" should light as if firing the torch,
-then when the hole finishes, keep an eye on the button and your machine.
the button should turn off, but the machine still moving.
That's how I tried it.

Give me news!

Richard
PS. Maybe sheetcam doesn't "see" it, but mach does?

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sun Dec 01, 2013 6:32 am

Many thanks for your help Richard, it does work like you say in Mach but not the sheetcam simulation, just did a quick test like you said there with a long overburn and a slow feed to see it....good stuff!
Now for the cutting test..
Thanks
Sean
Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:02 pm

Well with just a very quick test I can already see an improvement, adding another rule to the set I was already using.....I added 2mm overcut, 2mm leadout and torch off code snippet 4mm before the end.

Thanks again for posting the info.

P1030899.JPG


P1030900.JPG

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

Corfabrication
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:04 pm
Location: Racine Wi
Contact:

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby Corfabrication » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:15 pm

has anyone sucessfully done this with the ethercut candcnc setup? I have tried a bunch of different settings and its like mach doesnt respond to the code,although it is in the file from sheetcam.

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:33 pm

It's worth persevering, it works great for anything that's going to dropout and prevents the leadout cutting metal.

This is a 20mm hole in 4mm

IMG_3264.JPG

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here

Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

Corfabrication
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:04 pm
Location: Racine Wi
Contact:

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby Corfabrication » Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:25 pm

which version of mach are you on?
I am using ethercut UG version. I looked in the macros and in plasma folder it does have the m10/m11 files. Im not sure why mach seems to be overlooking the code when it comes up. I made a program with a 6" circle to cut,and set a rule to trigger m10p1 at 2" before end of cut. It still ran as it always has,with a slight pause at the end of the actual cut.

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:54 pm

Corfabrication wrote:which version of mach are you on?
I am using ethercut UG version. I looked in the macros and in plasma folder it does have the m10/m11 files. Im not sure why mach seems to be overlooking the code when it comes up. I made a program with a 6" circle to cut,and set a rule to trigger m10p1 at 2" before end of cut. It still ran as it always has,with a slight pause at the end of the actual cut.


What ???

I was under the impression that Toms ethercut system had got rid of all those motion pauses when any sort of macro was ran.

I'd ask Tom about that one and see what he says. I know a lot of talk was about the pause in motion when the THC was turned on and off, but I thought the problem was gone with any macro causing a pause in motion.

This is actually one of the primary reasons I want to upgrade to that system.

Keith.
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

User avatar
SeanP
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby SeanP » Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:16 am

Sorry I should have said, I'm using the parallel port version with MP3000-DTHCII-DCC+scriber6 post.
Mach 3 is Version R3.043.067

I tried the latest 11D post and couldn't get dthc delay or rules to work right on mine.

The only time I get a motion pause Keith is if I use a rule to turn off dthc on corners and then use a perpendicular lead in,, I seem to get a slight mark where that turns off on the first corner (the leadin), but after that it's perfect.
Arc lead in gets around that so I use that now.

I'm more than happy with this setup.

Sean
Powermax 45 with Duramax torch.
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw X8, Solidworks
Table build gallery

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Sat Apr 04, 2015 5:19 pm

Thanks Sean,

but it was Corfabrication who said he has an ethercut system and still gets a pause at the end of cut.

I think I read somewhere that Tom said his ethercut system uses a modified Smoothstepper box. I thought that system took all the commands from Mach then gave them out "smoothly" :lol: for want of a better description.

Anyway it's certainly something I'll be checking out before buying.

Keith
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

Corfabrication
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:04 pm
Location: Racine Wi
Contact:

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby Corfabrication » Sat Apr 04, 2015 5:49 pm

Fwiw i am using the 11d post.
it absolutely stops axis motion before torch is extinguished.

beefy
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby beefy » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:05 pm

Corfabrication wrote:Fwiw i am using the 11d post.
it absolutely stops axis motion before torch is extinguished.


Have you actually checked the gcode produced.

Is the M5 command placed before the end of the gcode which is causing motion, or is it placed afterwards.

Toms ethernet system may be working great as far as M commands NOT causing a pause in motion, but if the post itself is placing the M5 command AFTER the stop of motion, then that's where the issue lies. Saying that, the cut rule should place the M5 exactly where it's told to put it.

Keith.
8 x 5 water table
Powermax 1250 with Duramax torch
UCCNC controller, UC400-ETH & UC300-ETH motion controllers.
Sheetcam
Geomagic Design 3D solid modelling
Coreldraw X5

vmax549
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby vmax549 » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:40 pm

HIYA Keith, The problem is in the M3 M5. It helps if you look in the macros and see what command is bing used to tuen on/off the torch. IF it is using the DoSpinCW() it wil definitely have a pause. Changing it to ActivateSIgnal(outputxx), DeactivateSignal(outputxx) can help most times to eleminate the pause.

M10 M11 will definately eliminate the pause as well as EOPO EOP1 . Both of these will fire the relay on the next step of axis motion.

To get as fast as possible code it this way. M10 P1 B0 (phantom axis call), This will help eliminate the electronics dwell time before it can trigger and the axis actually starting to move. It works very well for lasers that need precise timing in the fireing of the laser without delays before motion starts.

Just a thought, (;-) TP

Corfabrication
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:04 pm
Location: Racine Wi
Contact:

Re: torch off without a pause

Postby Corfabrication » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:12 pm

I need mach classes.


Return to “Mach3 CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's