trouble with downloaded dfx files

General software related questions should be posted here.
jackleg007
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

trouble with downloaded dfx files

Post by jackleg007 »

newbie here,just learning on my new table.running sheetcam and mach3.

i have been playing around with some dfx files i downloaded from this site.i am finding that most of the files do not cut properly,or do not even generate a toolpath.has anyone else noticed this,or is it something going on with my software?
muzza
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: trouble with downloaded dfx files

Post by muzza »

There are always the odd ones which don't work for me but most seem fine. I too use Sheetcam & Mach3 so post one you having trouble with and I'll check it out for you.
Murray
jackleg007
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by jackleg007 »

hi murray.thanks for the reply.opened up a couple of files in autocad and saw some funny lines and start points.also,getting a few thing figured in sheetcam.had a buddy over that is a real computer whiz.he wrote a program to handle the g code and run mach3.looks like it may work awesomely,maybe better than sheetcam for what im doing.i will play a bit more.if i find more files that i am having trouble with i will get back to you....have you found a way to completely turn off the radiused corners without having to loop them?
muzza
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by muzza »

I have never used the loop corners option. I'm sure it was one of the setup options in Sheetcam which I said no to. I'm about to head out the door but I'll check when I get back.
Murray
muzza
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by muzza »

Just checked,
In Sheetcam, go to "Operations'
select "Plasma Cutting"
in the right hand corner you have 3 options of corner looping including "None" and a slider for if you select one of the others.
Murray
jackleg007
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by jackleg007 »

will check that out in the morning,thanks again
trucutcnc