Fusion 360 Questions

General software related questions should be posted here.
pitbumpers
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Fusion 360 Questions

Post by pitbumpers »

Has anyone started drawing and burning, using Fusion 360. I just down loaded a trial version and It looks fantastic, but I am just starting out.

I will be using an LDR table, when it arrives next month, cant wait !!!!
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Fusion 360 Questions

Post by tcaudle »

Wont work. No available POSTs for plasma . You can use it to draw with and then move a DXF into SheetCAM that has the correct posts to match the hardware you are getting. Without the custom SheetCAM post (that come with the system) you lose access to a lot of the automation features you paid for on your LDR table.Things like: Auto Touch -off, Setting the Preset volts, Pierce Height, Cut height, DTHC On/off and (exclusive to a Hypertherm ) control the Cut Current from software.

The systems comes preloaded with a CAD program (QCAD) and a pure drawing program (Inkscape) . Fusion 360 won't run on LINUX
All you can use your plasma table for is to cut 2D (flat or round) and Fusion 360 is way overkill for that relatively simple drawing process. The important things happen in the CAM that takes the drawing and makes it into a toolpath and control program.