It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:03 am

 

Tube Cutting

General software related questions should be posted here.
User avatar
jeeplogic83
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:52 am
Location: West MI
Contact:

Tube Cutting

Postby jeeplogic83 » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:48 pm

Just wondering if anyone is using a 4th axis to cut pipe or tube and how do you like it? I would like to be able to design something in a cad then be able to input the length and diameter of the tube then cut it out. any thoughts?

User avatar
jeeplogic83
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:52 am
Location: West MI
Contact:

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby jeeplogic83 » Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:46 pm

Let me be more specific I saw on the discovery channel Howe and Howe engineering the guys that make the super fast tube chasis tanks. they have a program that takes the tube out of the drawing a lays it on the x axis then unrolls it and creates g-code based on the angle the tube was on the original placment of the tube inthe drawing this is done on a rotary axis. Has any one seen this or am I crazy.

User avatar
trucks1948
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 10:00 am
Location: Baraboo,Wi

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby trucks1948 » Sat Apr 03, 2010 4:43 pm

I saw some tube cutting videos on utube--maybe you can get some ideas from them.Jim ---i just searched plasma tube cutting

WICKED DIESELS
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby WICKED DIESELS » Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:38 pm

I have a Dynatorch with the tube cutter attachment, I haven't used it much and they are developing new programming for it, to ease usability.

fitzy
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:13 am
Location: Lehi, Utah

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby fitzy » Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:36 pm

check out torchmates web site they have a cool tube cutting attachment.
-fitzy-
It ain't braggen if you can back it up!

bogger44
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 am
Location: alberta, Canada

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby bogger44 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:11 am

Don't know your setup but cand cnc had programing that goes with mach3 to use a 4th axis

they design it flat then the machine cuts it out turning the tube plasma route has a lathe head you can buy plumbed for tube cutting

User avatar
jeeplogic83
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:52 am
Location: West MI
Contact:

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby jeeplogic83 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:44 am

Bogger, I actually have everything to build the 4th axis. I am trying to learn the 4th axis software that I got from CandCNC but for me there is a serious learning curve. you would think that if I could figure out how to completely convert my PCNC table over to CandCNC , it would not be that much of a stretch to figure out the 4th axis but it's kill'n me. Also I have not figured out my motor to drive ratio on the 4th axis yet. I think it will be 60:1 but I have also seen them built at 90:1 any help would be great.

rock4xfab
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby rock4xfab » Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:41 pm

I use Bend-Tech 2020 software for all of our Roll cages. It has a function that outputs a wrapper that I can print on paper and put on the tube, it also outputs a DXF that I can input into sheetcam.

User avatar
pertneer
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby pertneer » Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:01 pm

try this site

www.cncwrapper.com

also if you have Bend tech SE you can output the dxf file for the wrapper and import them into cnc wrapper which will then create the 4th axis rotation.

I am also working with the makers of Millwrite that are developing a plasma version of their software and they are incorporating the 4th axis into this version. You can then go from Bend tech(wrapper) to millwrite (to get your g-code) and off to the machine to cut.
4'x8' CNC Plasma w/Water Table Running a Powermax 65 :D
CandCNC, Mach3, SheetCam, Millwrite Plasma V6

bogger44
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 am
Location: alberta, Canada

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby bogger44 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:25 pm

Bogger, I actually have everything to build the 4th axis. I am trying to learn the 4th axis software that I got from CandCNC but for me there is a serious learning curve. you would think that if I could figure out how to completely convert my PCNC table over to CandCNC , it would not be that much of a stretch to figure out the 4th axis but it's kill'n me. Also I have not figured out my motor to drive ratio on the 4th axis yet. I think it will be 60:1 but I have also seen them built at 90:1 any help would be great.

contact tom through yahoo groups candcnc and he could prob give some ideas to ratio. sorry for the late reply.

User avatar
pertneer
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Tube Cutting

Postby pertneer » Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:39 pm

Tom recommended to me that the best performance for a rotary axis being used with a plasma should be 25 to 1. If I can find the link on his support forum I will post it.
4'x8' CNC Plasma w/Water Table Running a Powermax 65 :D
CandCNC, Mach3, SheetCam, Millwrite Plasma V6


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests