Fastcam problem

General software related questions should be posted here.
rommel
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Fastcam problem

Post by rommel »

Hello everybody, I am new to this forum, just registered this day and I am amazed by how good it is. The dxf that some of the members uploaded are excellent. I am new to cnc plasma cutting, I just set up the machine that I bought from China to work and the program they gave me to convert pictures I wanna cut into the .txt (g-code?) files so the plasma machine (controller) could read is fastcam. I have successfuly uploaded some pictures of my own and cut them, but I have recently downloaded here some more "complicated" work, for example somebody's picture of forest scene and chevy car and tried to convert them in Fast program but it seems the picture Is just too much for the program to handle and the program gets blocked. This Is very frustrating, because I want to start full-force in cutting steel.

Can you guys help me fix this problem, or maybe even better introduce me to another program that you use in this purpose that could be also useful for me and more efficient?

Thank you for all the good work and info you have shared on this forum.
rommel
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Re: Fastcam problem

Post by rommel »

Thanks for the warm welcome.

I use corel draw to edit/make my pictures. Then I save the file in .DXF format. I open the FastCAM and then i restore the .dxf file and make "paths" for the picture and save the file as .txt file. The file is then imported into the machine and cutting starts. However, I try to upload a really big picture, or really detailed, and the FastCAM, while in proccess of pathing that picture, gets stuck and non-responding. Hope I explained this well.

So I was wondering if there was any other software I could use for this purpose other than FastCAM or if I could do anything about it.

Sorry, I am currently not at my working pc so I can not upload the pictures or any files I used.