converting images to dxf

Corel Draw Graphics Suite related questions and tips can be posted here
longhorndorman
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

converting images to dxf

Post by longhorndorman »

Hello, I have been in the cnc plasma cutting world for about three years now and have always paid someone to convert images or trace images for me(do to lack of time and knowledge). I have decided to take a step back in the cutting portion and hire someone to do that part and take on the role of converting images and or tracing do to the turn around time on products and to have higher profit margins, with that said I have basic knowledge of scaling dxf files and making minor changes in AutoCAD. I am wondering if someone could help me out with what cad program would be best for converting or tracing and really where to start. I have never taken a image and converted it to a dxf file so I have no clue on that portion of the operation. I know this will not be a quick or easy learning curve and will take lots of time but it is something I need to learn to keep my cnc plasma business healthy. Thanks any help will be greatly appreciated.
littlefatbuddy
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Re: converting images to dxf

Post by littlefatbuddy »

That's not an easy question to answer. I personally like Corel others swear by adobe, still others with inkscape, and the list goes on. You have a some options as far as learning. I spent countless hours on youtube with a split screen learning how to use the program. I still have a long way to go even after three years of using it. You could enroll in a college class and go that route. Search the files here many times you can find the process you need to do. By the way, I will start a thread in a bit to ask for Corel help in text.
muzza
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by muzza »