A few questions for a beginner

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
FiveORacing
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

A few questions for a beginner

Post by FiveORacing »

I'm new to Plasma and I have a few basic questions hopefully someone can give me some tutorials on. Probably pretty simple, but I'm new at this.

1.Optimizing the use of material. (manual nesting?) How do I set up so that I can squeeze a piece into an available spot on the material, and get it so the torch doesn't run off the steel or into previous cuts. I'm not talking about scaling, I can do that, I'm talking about making sure I don't run off the clean part off the material from the start point. Right now the codes I load have the crosshairs in the center of the objects and it starts by moving somewhere else before cutting. I'm kinda eyeballing it but I'm sure there's a more technical way. :oops:

2. Do you guys do "dry" runs and what's the best way to do that?

3. When I have pretty much nothing let to cut from, what's the best way to cut of the remaining scrap on the table?

I'm using TurboCAD, Sheetcam TNG and Mach3.

Thanks

Joe
RJ Fab
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Re: A few questions for a beginner

Post by RJ Fab »

I'm new too but will try and help. 8-)

1. I look at both x,y measurements of what I'm going to cut paying attention to which is the long side cut (if not square). Mine starts in the lower right of what's to be cut so I place the material where it will squeeze into if using scrap. Just wondering how your's starts from the middle? That would give it (-) coordinates?

2. On my setup to do a dry run I just simply turn the plasma cutter off and let the driver software run alone. This is nice to make sure the cut piece will fit where you want it to. (like your above question)

3. I'm not sure what your asking here?

Hope this helps.
stonesol
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by stonesol »